Sort:  

Posting, mining and development is only part of what makes a coin popular. Without trading there is no way to find a market price and merchants won't accept the coin - after all it is not backed by any centralized authority. With crypto I've finally learned that is is a big important part of building community and long term success. But each to his own, these things have a nice way of working out with large populations.

Oh I am totally for it. With my background in finance, I am intimately familiar with the markets, and trading being necessary for price discovery. Not to mention without liquid markets that are a result of trading, it would be very hard to sell out any real size.
However, personally I cannot understand a way to value the coins. In equities, I can see Apple sold x number of phones or McDonalds sold y number of burgers, so I can sort of derive a value. Yet I hold Steem because of Steemit. I can see Steem having a value because of the inherent value of this platform.

It is really tough to evaluate crypto, there is really no scarcity in a way because it is so easy to create a new blockchain from open source software. It comes down to more about what kind of potential and new technologies a coin brings and how popular and supportive the communities are.

I forgot about your background in finance, I hope I didn't sound too much like I'm preaching to the choir, lol.

No not at all. I always appreciate your thoughts and comments! I find it always hard to communicate accurately with text. So when I question about valuing crytos, its not coming as a challenge, I just always have had a hard time understanding how to value gold as well..So thank you for explaining it to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88