My First Post!

in #crypto7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

This is my first blog here an I'm excited about it! I'm in automation sales in based in Knoxville, Tennessee. Ex-Navy nuclear electrician that spent some time on a submarine in the pacific (hence the first part of the name).
Flickr_-_Official_U.S._Navy_Imagery_-_USS_Tucson_pulls_in_to_Apra_Harbor_for_a_brief_port_visit_during_it's_six_month_deployment..jpg

There's my old boat the USS Tucson when we were pulling into Guam in 2012. I did six years in the navy. Two in training, and four at sea in the Pacific stationed out of Pearl Harbor. Since leaving the Navy in 2013, I spent a year in college trying to convince myself I had anything in common with an 18 year old. After that I was cleaning out chicken houses in NW Georgia when the owner of the farm knew the engineering manager of a distributor in Atlanta. I went for the interview and they hired me to be an application engineer. I lived in Atlanta for about six months then an inside sales job opened in Nashville, Tennessee. I was willing to do anything to leave Atlanta so I took it. I spent a year doing inside sales then I transitioned to outside sales covering East Tennessee ever since. I mostly sell factory automation equipment specializing in machine vision, robotics, and motion control.

I think the main purpose of this blog is going to be to discuss my views on things. Some topics we may cover:

-Sales and sales strategies

Specifically from someone brand new to sales especially technical sales in this day in age. I read a lot of sales books, listen to a lot of podcasts, and talk to a lot of people that have been selling for years. The problem is that for most of these people they have been doing this for years. They do stuff instinctively without even thinking about it and a lot of times when I ask a question, I'm met with "well that's common sense!" I agree it is common sense for someone with 30+ years of experience! Of course this is very good information, but how do we translate this to newbie language?

-Technology

I've always been a fan of what people are coming up with. Robotics and automation are always on the forefront of my mind.

-Precious Metals

Huge fan of Silver and Gold (hence the second part of my name). I like both, but I think silver is a lot more fun. I completely agree gold is money in every sense of the word, but you're not going to melt down three ounces of gold just to pour it into a new mold for the fun of it! Silver is a lot more fluid as well. If you want to sell an ounce you can usually find someone with $20 they want to get rid of. Little harder finding someone with $1,300 sometimes. That being said I have both and value both. In a way include crypto in this as a store of wealth. I have no idea if it's here for good, but like what I'm seeing so far.

-Agriculture

There's an old saying that when things get too complex and collapse the simple survive. It wasn't the giant dinosaurs that survived the meteor, but the little rat. That being said, growing up in the rural northwest Georgia I was always surrounded by farmers and their way of life. During those economic hard times, they usually at least had something to eat!

I'll try to post daily about something I read or watch, and I look forward to your feedback and discussions. Also, a big shout out to @juniusmaltby for showing me Steemit and being my first follower! And if you need some automation in East Tennessee let me know! Thanks!

Sort:  

Congratulations @nuclearsilver, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40