Risk control strategy while trading (Plan the trade, trade the plan)

in #crypto5 years ago (edited)

The guy running the telegram channel I'm in, where we discuss Technical analisys and plan our targets, gave us a pep talk the other day about sticking to the plan.



Remember Most of the Profitable Traders of the world having have accuracy of 40%-55%, Still they are sitting at Huge Funds, WHY??

Because of Trading Discipline and Taking High RTR Trades.

"Plan the trade and trade the plan".


Don't confuse sentiment with using intelligence acquired information to secure your profits.

Entering and exiting according to plan is part of the Risk control strategy.



There are two TPs and the way I see it. TA will almost 100% of the time properly tell TP1, however TP2 is a possibility which is much more influenced by external factors. (Not necessarily Sentiment)

For example:

  • BTT jumped because it was listed on KuKoin and that is what triggered TP2 and above.

  • The same way, PHX lost its momentum because of the Volume migration to BTT initial listing hype and didn't reach TP2 (yet?)

I don't know if I'm right but I try to keep an eye on external factors and then choose if I stay for TP2 or content myself with TP1

Like big bet, small bet... but the risk is the same because what controls it is your stop loss



What do you think?

Over the long term I need to be Bullish on STEEM hopefully I will be able to put more SP on my account once i finish this operation.

If you like my journal of trying to make a shitload of steem please comment

Vote | ReSTEEM | Follow | Love | SteemON

Sort:  

Emotional trading lost me a ton of money. It is really hard for me to let me trade sit as 1) I really like trading, and 2) I always forget to set a stop loss.

Trading on Binance was difficult for me as I could only set a stop loss or a take profit, but not both. Then (usually at work) when I would see the price spike, I would need to do something THAT INSTANT, but couldn't due to needing to cancel limit orders and the like.

So I made a tool. I can now do some real TA, set up my trades, and walk away. It's been nice. =)

(I get more done at work too!)

Good for you!
I have python scripts for that as i dont like the risk of sharing my API keys and i am able to code.

Just a pain in the ass to bug-hunt them every time binance changes their API.

I haven't had the API change happen to me yet... but all the new coin pairings can sometimes hurt.

Learning to code changed the world for me. This is for sure. This has never been more true:

Additionally, as I feel the need to reference it, all the apps I make don't need API information. For instance, my trading app can use Telegram to tell you about a point you were looking for and my tax app can output a xlsx file for all your trade information to go in.

Can never be too careful!

Hahahaha loved the image... so effing true lol... (most of the time I'm da dogz...

Bro you say you dont use the API... but you need to link to the api to do this

Furthermore later on it says this:

I'm confused...

So i decided to give it a try... And clicked man... and this happened

Still turning...

Just thought of letting you know

cheers

Wow! That's a bit embarrassing that it wouldn't download for you. Tell you what, you email me at [email protected] and I'll send you a code for a free copy.

Further, the trading app does pretty much 3 things:

  • trades on the site
  • sends you notifications of market action
  • gives you % price increase/decrease, etc of coins

For the notifications and trends, it does not need your api. To make the trades, it does. I'll explain that in more detail on the site.

Appreciate you letting me know! My new caching plugin seemed to block it. Should be cleared up now!

Thanks man! I appreciate it.

Sending the mail now!

I sent you a reply. Let me know if you didn't get it

Sorry man i did not get your mail.

Este Post ha sido votado por @gatillo y curado por @bebeth para @steempress-io


https://discord.gg/AgtNh53


Ya que utiliza el servicio de hospedaje de WordPress de @reveur y el plugin de @steempress-io para publicar contenido en nuestro idioma, el #castellano, si deseas saber mas o formar parte, haz click en la imagen para entrar a nuestro discord.

Un proyecto de @nnnarvaez

You got a 48.80% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @nnnarvaez! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 16 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @nnnarvaez!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.432 which ranks you at #2155 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 2165).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 223 contributions, your post is ranked at #177.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98