You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LIVING IN WORLD OF MISINFORMATION AND DISTRUST - is it indeed our future? Please join discussion.

in #crypto6 years ago

An interesting read. The concerns you raised are concerns I also have so it would be sort of a banality to write at length about them. One question that I always grapple with is one of control. Who will steer the ship? And what will happen when ordinary people have access to these technologies? The scenario with Obama will, I presume, become commonplace. What if I have a vendetta against my neighbor or a family member, I can easily destroy his/her reputation using these devices.

We tend to look at corporations and how they manipulate the populace, but we also do our bit where this is concerned. Just look at social media. At the end of the day, AI is a double edged sword that needs a hand to wield it. Hence, it is less about AI and more about us as human beings using another tool to express the darker side of our characters.

Sort:  

An interesting read.

Im glad you found it interesting :)

Thanks for your comment and sharing your thoughts @nicholas83
I appreciate a lot.

It seem that we're on the same page here. Sharing similar concerns.

What if I have a vendetta against my neighbor or a family member, I can easily destroy his/her reputation using these devices.

Exacly!

Some people mentioned that we need to develop solutions that will allow us to distinguish fake audio/video from real one.
That's a great business opportunity for those who can provide such a solutions. Dont you think?

Big thx for taking the time to reply,
Yours
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29