Warning to all bitcoin newcomers...Important

in #crypto7 years ago

IMPORTANT: To all of those trying to understand Bitcoin and the crypto currency world, please read the following message.

I feel this needs to be said. I totally get the scepticism. It is healthy and I encourage you to be sceptical. Do your research. Do your own thorough homework. I cannot shout this from the rooftops loud enough! Don't be lazy and expect someone else to do it for you. I dipped my toes in the water about two years ago and got burnt pretty bad because I was a bit clueless I will admit. There was a serious shortage of good advice and an abundance of bad advice. I wish I had an honest mentor back then and things might be totally different for me and my family. But this only drove me on to learn and understand and find out for myself.

I would never suggest anyone invest in HYIP or companies that are dodgy, as a matter of fact I would never suggest anyone invest in anything. I am not a financial adviser. I am certainly not being paid to be one either! You can google any coin, any club or any company and there will be some dumbass claiming it is a scam. Some of those dumbasses are correct because the world is full of scammers trying to make a buck. I have a whole list of scam companies on my Crypto support group page....(feel free to join us if you want to learn more it's free and I'm not selling anything). That's not to say you shouldn't be careful you should. But don't get scared off at the first google hurdle. I personally have a reputation I want to keep in tact. I have spent the last two years studying, hodling (Holding On for Dear Life) and accumulating from pitiful beginnings and getting to know who is who with a good reputation in the industry. I am not asking anyone to invest in any company, and I am not giving investment advice. If you have a sensible mentor, you are more likely to hear the following message "Don't invest more than you are prepared to lose". Which is exactly what I would tell you. You will never hear that from a two bit salesperson. They will encourage you to risk whatever you can afford. I am simply educating my friends and family as to how they can find information to begin their own journey toward investment in this industry and how they can get on board as safely as possible with the lowest amount of risk. I have been answering peoples questions about what I have been doing because everyone is in the dark and there are so many opinions out there. I am humbled that people care about what I have to say on the subject. One of the links I shared happens to be a mining company. I cannot tell you whether this company is a fraud anymore than I can tell you whether BHP will make a profit this year. But I can take a look at the information that is available on the public record and decide for myself. I do not endorse any company in any way, shape or form. It would be the same as me saying I bank with National Australia bank. Just because I bank with them, does not mean I endorse them or take responsibility for the way they conduct themselves.

Look, I hear ya. I have seen some shocking things happening to good people (me included) and that is why unless you want to set up your own mining rig from home, trusting a company is the only other option if you wish to take advantage of mining as an opportunity. I am not suggesting that mining is the only thing you can do either. If you scroll through my posts on social media, you will see I have been trying to encourage people for a long time, by setting up wallets, registering with an exchange experimenting with few pages set up simply as an exercise (they are not real and simulate the mining and reinvesting or compounding effect) to give people an understanding of how things can work. Doing your homework, getting started somewhere! I have also been suggesting that people think about dipping their toes in the water purchasing and holding some coins. Lots of my friends have done this but like anything else, a lot got on board once it had already taken off and are now sad that it has pulled back. This often happens because everyone waits till everyone else is doing it. That is why the risk takers are called entrepeneurs (one who organizes, manages, and assumes the risks of a business or enterprise). Because they enter first when everyone else is too afraid. But if you are listening to the right educated people you will know that this industry is only in it's infancy and has a long long way to go. People are the same everywhere and want to be certain of something before they take the risk. But you can never ever be certain. This is where you have to decide what you want to do. Educate yourself to become as certain as you can be or sit on the sidelines with a bag of popcorn. I am not judging you with either choice, I am just trying to be a sound and reasonable voice in amongst the many crazy messages people are being given.

Why am I bothering? Because I, like many others can see that this is here to stay. I actually want it to stay because it holds so much potential for the betterment of humanity on so many levels. The transition might be confusing and uncertain and even at times scary, but there are good people who are prepared to help you navigate the way and I am telling you now people, it will be worth it. I don't make money from most of my advice and the small commissions I do get from providing links to certain wallets or exchanges is equivalent to "Coles Fly buys rewards". I am not doing it to make money from you (some people do), I am doing it because I believe in this idea. This is not for everyone I totally get it. So if you do not wish to put money into a mining opportunity because it "could" be a scam, I am not here to convince you. But my advice is not solely to investigate and research mining. My advice is to educate yourself and learn about as much of the industry as you can bear. Find out what is right for you. I always, and I mean always as a rule start out small, remain with a company for at least three months before I would ever recommend anyone look at it themselves and then the first thing I do is take out my seed money before anything else. Some companies will be scams and even the hardened crypto experts will be caught out so be sensible peeps. I only ever deal with a company that has a legal framework in place including a justifiable contract and bonafide registration as an authentic company. I would encourage you to do your homework on any company before giving them a single cent of your money. I would encourage you to do the same if you were investing in the stock market. I am not a sales person for any one company. I have done my homework and continue to do so everyday. All companies and crypto currencies have their risks, but so does putting your money in the bank or buying shares. There are never any guarantees. But you either find someone who has experience and can give you sound advice or you go it alone and I certainly could have done with someone giving me the same advice I am now giving to others, I wasn't in any way careless or silly early on and I thought I was doing my homework, but in hindsight I can see where I went wrong. Scammers are very clever people. They are in fact experts at it. At some point you have to find people you can trust and try to learn from them or maybe the crypto markets are something you need to navigate using a third party like an investment company that you can kind of hold accountable if they make mistakes.

I am not here to answer one million questions and it is your job to execute due diligence with anything you do. I cannot stand next to you as you take your first sky diving lesson and guarantee you that you will survive. Please take your own risks like you would with anything else in life. I have had the courage to take my own and I can tell you I have learnt so much but would not change one thing! No-one will ever get it 100% correct. Why do people expect that? That is true of everything. I don't claim to be a guru and I am certainly not telling people to sell their house and go all in. But I am comfortable (and uncomfortable at the same time) with what I am doing and that is okay with me. It is up to you if you want to take on that and learn from it or not. With respect and love

Sort:  

Thanks for your good posts, I followed you!

Congratulations @naturalnomads! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39