Crypto for beginners

in #crypto6 years ago

I thought it would be worth to do a post on my experience of cryptocurrencys and others can learn from my "mistakes"..

I will share with you the problems I found the hardest to over come, and ill tell you also of the multiple times that iv lost coins because of scam wallets and a couple of phishing sites.
Lets say you joined up to steemit and this is your introduction to not only a new social media site, but also an integrated Crypto-currency aswell. Ill tell you my story of crypto land and you can then take it or leave it!

I had some BTC and the price had started to fall at the end of last year so I wanted to get my first ETH before it came down. I thought, at the time, that the only way was to change cryptos on and exchange trading site and so i got an account at CEX. I did my first swap from btc to eth, but then that was it, i had no clue about trading but I was very happy atleast to just have some ETH. Then I discovered changerlly. And the price was still dropping of BTC so i just looked through a crypto tracker app which i used to just check btc price on, for different coins that were very cheap and i didnt even know about coinmarketcap and to research any coins. But still i knew the price was falling and so I split it all into diferent coins like BCN , XRP and Digibyte were the first 3. Then i got suspended from my job just after joining binance, and so i decided to learn how to trade and explore crypto. I only had the binance app a couple of days before I was suspended but had managed to turn 0.1btc into a good profit but then i lost my phone and got locked out of Google Authenitcator, and missed the huge highs that accured right before the crash, i would have had 10x gains on XRP for example.


First lesson of this post- Use AUTHY instead for 2FA!!

Oh actually 5 times gains because XRP Ripple was the first coin i got scammed on and i re-brought into it.

WALLET-RIPPLE.COM Lesson number 2- Is a Scam Website, one with the same receiving address for everyone who signs up. 3000 xrp lost!

Whilst locked out of Binance site, and the btc price still falling, I found kucoin and shortly after Cryptopiac (or the other way around!). I can only join trading sites that dont ask for ID verfication, because I stay away from all that shit since awhile and will never willingly get back into all that.
0.05 btc in Cryptopia, and started trading.
Didnt go so well as binance but still its now full of "shitcoins" that ill just hold until the summer I guess, taught me alot though!

This was the biggest problem that I faced whilst wanting to invest money into crypto...FINDING LEGIT WALLETS!!

I am by far definatly not a "computer person" for me and many others, its all very confusing.
I had some Neo, 4 I think it was , really happy it was profit, so I went and got a wallet, then I learn that the wallets full of lots of neos, and realise I was scammed. Oh yeh I had also in there 1000s of DBC, I think this is a good company for around 8 years from now and so I re-brought back into it.
LESSON 3- Dont use neo-wallet.online!!

I lost 0.05 btc on Siacoin, again on an online wallet. I looked after I realised and that site had got over 20million USD from scams! DONT USE SIAWALLETONLINE!!
I did recently buy them again on the official wallet...
Another thing, downloading blockchains! fuck! Apparently I have BURST, Sia coin and Smartcash, but ive never seen the balance because I dont have internet to download blockchains or anywhere to store them. So concider this first. there ar e ways around it but to the average person its jargon.

The most recent loss was of 7 neos, 5000dbc that I had rebrought from scam before, and nearly 2000 RPX, that was a very silly mistake, my google browser was open and so I didnt use a safe link from my history and gave my seed away from trying to deposit the neos.

After buying cryptos before wallets were even created for them, I hope now its got much better for new investors. I do have a ledger, but its so fuckin un-user friendly, something else needs to be created for the mass adoption.


So after some time you learn that there are 1000s of other coins out there, and like myself , I wanted to spend pennys on coins of which that unless the company goes broke before it starts, or its all a scam, then i was bound to double the pennys at some point.
I had found and also downloaded the FREE WALLETS for LTC, ZCASH, BYTECOIN, one other i forget. wow so cool and practical the have wallets for so many coins! The first thing I got was BCN and lost it along with 5 LTC and I forget how many ZCASH.

DONT USE FREEWALLETS I believe after my personal experience with them, that they are selectively scamming people.
I lost all with freewallets and never got any real help from support, and have read posts from other victims also even in the "freewallet Victims" group on Fakebook.

I then brought back BCN and used the official wallet, but also im still not sure if BCN will one day just vanish or if it will be the best real anon currency out there.

So free wallets out of the question.

Since then I have a ledger wallet after learning how to trade and loosing so many coins. These are very safe But Ive spent hours upon hours learning how to use it and im still 50% comfortable with its low user friendly stats so actually if you want to Hodl coins its perfect.

For beginners NEO is fucking confusing. FOR STARTERS ITS OFFICIALLY CALLED NEO and NEON. This dosnt help in selecting the genuine wallet.
This year I lost 7 neo and my neo tracker account because I opened a scam site on google chrome instead of my usual browser, and gave my password over, I found out 10 days later when I decided to check the wallet, it was emptied 12 hours after I logged into the fake phishing website.

And just today I had to reset my phone, leaving me locked out of the trading websites again until the 2fa is rest!
Authy said my backup password wasnt real.. huh.

So just as a reference to wallets, I had good experiences with Bitpie, they hold many different coins, coinomi also great, electrum, king for btc I believe, and ledger wallet. Use My ether wallet for Eth tokens in conjunction with ledger. I think paperwallet generator is good if you learn how to use it. One thing I do know though is that not everyone will be able to afford to learn the hard way and even to work all this out has taken me so long and so much stress writting down a million seeds,backing up on usbs. Its not for the faint hearted!

Sort:  

Stock markets are heavily regulated, crypto markets aren't.

Those regulations can cause a massive amount of overhead, but there are positive sides to it as well, it does prevent some kind of scams and it does protect the investor to some extent. I think it's perfectly sane to throw some investment money on 20 randomly chosen stock companies on a well-working well-regulated stock market. The same cannot be said about cryptos. There are more than 1500 crypto currencies and ICO-tokens registered on CoinMarketCap, and I believe probably more than half of them are outright scams, and probably more than half of those that aren't scams will be worthless in some few years. Hence, I think it's a very bad idea to invest in cryptos far down on the list without doing some good due diligence first (and every now and then, outright scams like BitConnect tend to bubble up on the top-five list ... or "promising new technology" like IOTA, apparently with nobody bothering to do a proper quality assessment.

Bitcoiners used to be proud saying that Bitcoin was inflation-resistant, since one could be sure that no more than 21 million btc would ever be mined - however, the crypto currency space as such is NOT inflation-resistant, with new crypto currencies being produced on a daily basis. It's for sure not healthy.

Yeh your right about the random coins, and really i have no clue anymore whats a scam and whats not lol. But cash will crumble soon enough thats certain,so i buy crypto. I placed them all on a small profit sell order a long time ago and will check cryptopia in the summer haha.. As for the IOTA, im not wanting this to happen and i havent got any because of that reason. The chinease tokens are interesting and obviously ETH, and ones to do with AI. AI is soon to be common place everywhere. Im looking at cryptos like a saving scheme, and a video game where i can win for playing and after 3 years max ill get physical silver with the crypto and leave it at that ☺If i am to be really offgrid in the future, then i know for example that the internet could be unaccesable for people not living in AI Smart citys.. And thus no acess to 'freemarkets'

I've also lost quite much money to scams, sending to wrong addresses etc.

Last time had a guy wanting to buy bitcoin from me, he had registered an account at some exchange with the name thebtcmarket.com, but needed help for everything, including recommendations for exchanges and finding the deposit address at the exchange. I was in a hurry, should probably have been more careful ... just after sending the funds I realized the address was used before. I decided to try to register my own account there, and got up exactly the same deposit address. Luckily it was a relatively small amount, but still I find it incredibly annoying.

I do have a freewallet app on my android with 1 XMR in it, I should try to move it out from there.

Wow! I think everyones been scammed at some point. I would move that from freewallets before you cant log in again lol

did your free wallet work ok?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64848.13
ETH 3173.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55