You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Caesar used Encryption and so should You

in #crypto8 years ago

I just use Wickr. - Probably not as secure as Pidgin, but it doesn't require the same technical skills for the reciever of the message.

  • And it's still encrypted somewhat, with automatic destruction of messages.
Sort:  

If it has a backdoor that the government or admins can access, then it's no good.
The only enemy I fear when it comes to reading my messages would be the government. Not "hackers".

So I personally do not trust Wickr, although I'd like to be able to.

Where is that backdoor though?

  • The "activist" friends I have, that does a lot of work with cybersecurity, use Wickr, and I've never heard of if having a backdoor before.

Wickr is closed source, so you wouldn't know.

So, you just claim it have a backdoor for governments to use, without actually knowing?

  • Isn't that a tiny bit, I don't know, not credible at all?

It's not that I know it has a backdoor or not.

It's that I don't know, and thus, I can't trust it.
I can't verify the code myself, so I can't say whether it has a backdoor or not.
But after the NSA stuff got leaked, it's smartest and safest to assume that it does, until you can verify it personally.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67144.34
ETH 3517.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69