Problem with Cryptocurrencies are the Cryptokiddies (note the difference to Cryptokitties)

in #crypto6 years ago

This is only my personal opinion (as it is with every personal blogpost) and the title pretty much sums everything up.

Everybody knows that you could have made great - really GREAT - profits from cryptocurrencies in the past. This may or may not be the truth for the future. Ok, I get it. The same could be said about stocks or any other form of investments.

But I think here is the main problem. Stocks, or other forms of investments do have some kind of entrance hurdle - may it be a banking/custody account or some other form.
EVERYBODY (even a 8 year old) can buy cryptocurrencies - and this is a good thing. However, I think many people who are now doing this, should really not be doing so. But it goes even further.

I watched one or two videos about the crypto market analyzation on youtube. Now youtube startet to present me videos of 12 year olds taking about how they invested in this or that currencies and now why I should do too. I get it - you bought it and if everybody would now do so, you do profit. As easy as that! Well, I don't really think it's as easy as "that" - but it seems so for many. Searching on youtube for "why bitcoin will fail" ends up in almost the same people in the same home made video format as with the search "why bitcoin will skyrocket"....
Lately I hear stories from people taking mortgages on their houses to investment in a market, they have no idea of. However, you can very easily inform yourself from little children (or grown ups who also do not know about what they're talking).

Do I have a solution? No! Is this problem (which it is in my opinion) solvable? Absolutely not, as the main idea behind almost every cryptocurrency is the easy access to it. Also, we as the community absolutely do not want any kind of governmental regulation.

Personally, I believe everything comes down to "inform yourself" and really, really, really only invest amounts one is absolutely ok with loosing completely (well, or would not leave you bankrupt).
In the end, maybe I just wanted to use the term Cryptokiddies :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43