STOP CHECKING DELTA / BLOCKFOLIO!

in #crypto7 years ago

Psychology is a very important part of investing. As an investor, you have to be in control of your emotions in order to make good investment decisions. When starting out investing in crypto, it's very tempting to download an app like Delta or Blockfolio to keep track of your crypto holdings. However, many investors make the mistake of checking their holdings too often.

delta

Example: LongcatCoin
Let's look at hypothetical situation to better explain what I mean. Let's say you have invested 1.000 USD in LongcatCoin. Like many cryptocurrencies, LongcatCoin is extremely volatile. When you bought your LongcatCoins, they were trading at 1 USD each. You register the transaction in your portfolio app of choice.

Throughout the next 24 hours LongcatCoin increases in price to 10 USD, then drops to 2 USD. Now, ask yourself:

  • Did you gain 100% / 1.000 USD?
  • Did you lose 80% / 8.000 USD?

The person who constantly checks his portfolio will most likely feel like he lost 80% since he saw his portfolio value at 10.000 USD at some point. He will feel terrible since he missed the opportunity to sell at 10 USD each. The person who checked after 24 hours and saw his investment doubled in 1 day will feel great, even though the coin was trading higher throughout the day. Additionally, the person who checks once a day gets to enjoy his day while the other wastes his time constantly checking an app.

They key takeaway here is that, especially if your strategy in crypto is to HODL, enjoy your life and stop checking your portfolio app! If your strategy is to HODL, price actions should be pretty much irrelevant to you. By checking your portfolio app too often, you will set yourself up for disappointment.

How often do you check your portfolio value?
Leave a comment and let me know!


I'm a new writer on Steemit trying my best to deliver high-quality content.
Please consider upvoting or resteeming my posts!

You can also support me by following me or donating:
BTC: 1NQLE91WbHHMDCm2rbyg6yadhz423YsMnM
ETH: 0x050451c41c91a72683c99472f0566b55a4c6627c
LTC: LiVkom4hFT1y3iJrsgaQx1JfiUuXscPhg8

Thanks!
-longcat

longcat

Sort:  

You're right, I'm checking my delta way too often..

I'll be honest and admit that I'm checking it more than I should, too...
It's a good way to annoy your girlfriend, lol!
This post is as much an advice to myself as it is to the community.

Good article. Its important to keep your sanity and not be distracted unless you are about to make a move. Upvoted and resteemed. Please follow

Thanks! What do you write about?

So far i have written some on some ideas and thoughts i have regarding crypto. I am new to Steemit and i can see the value. Different knowledge takeaways have made me better already. I hope to be able to contribute and better the community.

Alright, I'll follow and check your content out!

I check way to often.

I am trying to set up alerts, so I know if something is moving up quickly, and for some coins, sell orders at certain percentage gains. Setting up stop-losses would be a good practice too.

The goal is to not check my portfolio unless I get an alert.

Keep up the good work!

I think setting alerts is indeed the best way to stay informed while not getting consumed by crypto. My portfolio is 50% bitcoin and the past days have been very much sideways so I found myself barely checking the app.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71