Welcoming DECENT to the Graphene-based family

in #crypto7 years ago (edited)

I'm not much of a cryptocurrency trader or investor, and largely stay away from the markets. (Though I did gamble a bit between February and May this year.)

However, I was enamoured by the idea of DECENT 9 months ago now. It was my first ICO - I invested a significant amount on Day 1, and for over half a year it remained my only ICO. In a nutshell, it's a decentralized content distribution network.

Given where the pre-release DCT tokens are trading on Liqui, I'm seeing potentially a 85x ROI on USD, which would make it the best investment of my life.

Tomorrow, on 30th June 12.00 CEST, the DECENT mainnet is finally going live. I was aware this would be a DPoS coin, but in going through the guides, I saw some familiar nomenclature pop up. cli_wallet, import_key, set_password. Hmm - now where have I heard those before?! Digging a bit more, it seems pretty obvious DECENT is descended from BitShares.

So here we are. In less than half a day, DECENT will join BitShares, STEEM and PeerPlays as Graphene-descended blockchains. (Yes, I'm aware Graphene has been rebranded.)

Interestingly, witnesses are called "miners". There are also "seeders" that'll host the content. Unlike other IPFS-type solutions, this one might just work because the seeders would have a financial incentive to host content.

You can find out more about DECENT here - https://decent.ch/

Sort:  

The DECENT Network journey began in January 2016, in which he presented his prototype. With a revolutionary vision and thanks to the participants who contributed fully to ICO, They raised 5,881 bitcoins, which today would be about $ 16 million dollars. The world of content distribution will be changed in many ways with the launch of the DECENT platform.

"Without Any intermediary "is the biggest advantage that users will have on this platform, and ensures the consumer's instant payment of content to the content owner, which in fact Enables a better user experience for everyone on DECENT Network.

There were 2 software tests (in the Testnet environment), on the DECENT platform, available to all people Who signed up for the site, before starting Mainnet. These tests were:

  • Testnet # 1 "Caesar" released in March 2017.
  • Testnet # 2 "Alberti" in May 2017.

DECENT Network's public opening will also feature the debut of DCT, the crypto- feeder that powers the network and Payment method for transactions within the innovative platform. June 30 is the day that will go down in history!

To know more about DECENT, access our article Explanatory

Leave your opinion or question in the comments below. Discover new things click here
000.gif

excellent insight, thanks

Well I beat you to the post, but you beat me on the votes. : ) Good job mate decent is looking good having two types of media stations would good for the who ecosystem we all love.

85x ROI, you made a killing! Great investment. My best investment was stellar where I got around 20x

Well, it's not a ROI till I have sold it. Let's see! Ideally I want to hold this long term, but if I see ridiculously high prices, I'll be tempted to sell most of it.

Great news!

When was the ICO though?

Back in September 2016! I knew what I was getting into - the roadmap said Q2 2017 for mainnet even back then. It was a calculated gamble, but at the time it was the only initiative to decentralize content distribution. There were a lot of shitcoins, but at the time the only two blockchains I was aware of with a clear mainstream usage scenario were Steem and Decent, and maybe Ethereum. I later discovered LBRY, Sia etc.

This definitely looks interesting but I'm not smart enough to know if it's, well, um... decent or not. I'll certainly have to keep my eye on it to see how it plays out.

I want off the Steemit plantation! When can content creators sign up?

IPFS has an incentive structure.

As far as I know, IPFS is just a protocol. It doesn't have an incentive structure just like http or torrents don't. Couldn't find anything on their website either, though perhaps it's hidden in there somewhere. Either way, blockchains can utilize IPFS and build their own incentive structure around it, like DECENT is doing.

You are correct. Although, the point is to have the incentive mechanisim abstracted from the storage layer.

Filecoin is the incentive structure being developed for IPFS currently. Pretty stealthy rn - heads down.

Decent is cool. Will be one of many. Standards will prevail.

I certainly hope for you that you'll enjoy the predicted gains! 85 times! WOW.
Content Distribution: On their website they dont say much what this really is. Is this similar to Sia, MAID and other decentralised storage or is it more like a content gateway and mediator for content parties? Something that could be fed into Steemit for instance?

I understean ur expectation, i'm waithing for Polybius ICO to end in 5 days, every one says it will have great price but not sure, but after all u need to spend money to make money

GO DECENT - I got in on the ICO as well - also one of my highest investments as well (until recently as other investments started showing AMAZING returns)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87