0.1 BTC Challenge - 100x!

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

Haven't posted in a few days, so one is overdue. And you read that right, my goal is to take 0.1 BTC to 10 BTC -

100x GAIN!

I needed a bigger goal and something more to strive for. I've also decided to keep the BTC profits inside the challenge. There may be times I take out profits to purchase long term holds if I see value, but most will be in the challenge if I want to make the gains I'm setting out to realize.

I know it's not going to be easy and it's going to take awhile to get there. There're many ways to get there, but the goal is always to buy low and sell high. Buying at absolute lows and selling at peak highs is impossible - don't let anyone convince you otherwise.

I don't Bitmex (even though I want to), so no leveraged margin trades. I don't short - technically. I don't go on Bitmex or Bitfinex to short, my version is slightly different. I will sell the BTC/coins into USD/USDT if I think BTC is going down. Then I'll buy back the BTC at a lower price. No leverage there, so I don't get the large percentage gains, but I also won't have the large percentage losses - which is totally fine with me.

I felt like I got back into some bad habits of chasing recently and it's shown in my results. I don't feel the market has turned yet to be able to chase. Still need to be cautious and be ready for anything. At least I made a conscious effort to have my stop losses, which has helped in holding the portfolio value relatively steady. I'm trying to get back into the same process as the week before, which led to steady gains. I let my FOMO-side take over the last few days and if it wasn't for honoring stops, I'd probably be right back where I started at 0.1 BTC. On the other hand, I also need to get better at holding onto coins and letting the setups I saw initially play out. Fast trigger fingers aren't always the best when trading.

Onto the portfolio and what I'm holding now - ICX Icon and AION Aion.

ICX Icon is one of my biggest bags - with the holding for the Challenge, it is my largest bag. The 1-day chart shows the 20-day ema crossing the 50-day ma, which is bullish.

icx1day.png

Zoom in on the 4 hour and you'll see the 50 ma just crossed the 200 ma, while the 20 ema had already crossed the 200 ma - both bullish signs. The first resistance is around the 0.618 fib line and currently consolidating there, but I think it'll get past. There's also the ICO Platform launch end of April, so the run up to the event should bring additional gains. Will most likely sell before the event, while still holding my long-term stash.

icx4hr.png

ICX makes up the majority of the current portfolio. The rest is made up of AION Aion, which I've been holding for a couple days or so now. Looking at the daily chart, I got in before it crossed the 0.236 fib line. What I saw was AION pushing and pushing against that resistance, so it'd eventually break through, just a matter of time.

aion1day.png

A zoomed in 4 hour chart:

aion4hr.png

And finally The 0.1 BTC Challenge Numbers - as of 4/17/18, 8:08am UTC +8
Profits - 48.13%
Total Size - 0.154042 BTC
In Play - 0.154038 BTC - ICX, AION

01btc808.png

For reference, my mid-long term portfolio:

ICX - Icon Project
DRGN - Dragonchain
QASH - QASH
ELA - Elastos
WAN - Wanchain
VEN - VeChain
ELEC - Electrify Asia
SPD - Stipend
FOR - FORCE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62860.75
ETH 3112.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86