No HTTPS everywhere

in #crypto6 years ago

HTTPS makes surfing the web more secure.

I am totally pro security. And Privacy. And Stemmit should use HTTPS of course.

But is there a need for sending me publicly available information (as pages like coinmarketcap.com do) encrypted. Here is no need to hide something after all.

In these cases HTTPS makes sure that the content the server send is the same that you receive. So pages should use HTTPS, shouldn't they?
Yes and no.
Yes, they should make sure that you receive what they send, but how about hashing the content and encrypting the hash with HTTPS? So you can be sure that the content is unchanged without having to encrypt the entire content.

What do you think about this? Do you have a website? Does it uses HTTPS?

Sort:  

LOL good point. shrugs

And yeah, my website uses it.....my provider offers it as part of a package, so why not use HTTPS?

If your Provider provides HTTPS, then you don't have to worry about it.
But in my case I host a server on a Raspberry Pi 3 so resources are rather limited. I found that by disabling HTTPS on non critical routes I can serve 20%-30% more requests per second. So here it was quite useful for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57908.48
ETH 2913.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61