Being Broke vs Being Poor - Part 1

in #crypto7 years ago (edited)

679956.jpgI'm not what you can call a rich guy, but I learned a lot from life.

I'm a college student trying to find ways to pay for my school expenses.While I was working at Burger King last semester, I had an extra $100 in my account and I didn't know what to do with it. As I was looking for ways to invest, one of my friends told me about "Robinhood" and how he was making thousands of dollars trading stocks. I kind of doubted him because I didn't think it was legal. I did some research and found out it was. I was happy. No, I was euphoric, thrilled, jubilant! I had already watched some Youtube videos about some guys becoming millionaires trading penny stocks and I was very optimistic. I could finally take my girlfriend out to the movies, buy my mom some nice things, help my dad out by taking care of my siblings. So many dreams man!
I opened a Robinhood account, got approved 2 days later, and as you already guessed, I lost my money. Trading was way more difficult than I thought. I realized that there isn't easy money. People that succeeded in it didn't just wake up and found money in their account, they put on hard work and effort. I was really discouraged by the loss but I didn't give up. Every day I kept learning. I lost a lot of money and maxed out my credit card more times that I can count, but I felt better every day because I learned every day. Yes, I made some gains down the road but nothing really meaningful. I finally made some good gains recently, and I can't write how good it felt to see some good green on my portfolio. It was delightful and I think it felt that great because of how hard the learning process was.
<<The same way you only lose when you sell in trading, you only fail when you give up in life. Being broke is temporary but being poor is a mentality.>>
I'm writing this to myself, so I can read this the when I succeed and remember how hard it was. Maybe I can encourage reading this too.
(Hello future "Me", remember "Me"? Yeah, it's the broke college student "You". LOL)

Peace
JoTheSteemer

Sort:  

Awwn. Nice one. It inspired me because being patient is not really my thing. I think I'll try more now. I love to write to my future self too. Thanks man

Thanks man! It great to see that someone can relate.

Nice article. Hope college paid off for you as well.

Thanks a lot @bycoleman. I appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54336.36
ETH 2283.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34