factom (FCT) - increasing value and helping people. any down side?

in #crypto7 years ago (edited)

Hi,
It seems when looking into new tokens it's all good news, people are so excited about ICOs that old coins are easy to miss and I'm wondering why people are not all over FCT, it looks great!

Currently ranked 26 on coinmarketcap.com with room to grow

To be honest, I bought it in my first week of crypto investing after watching 1 youtube video, then after a month I was checking by blockfolio and noticed it had tripled! Dumb luck for sure, but that made me look into it more, and I found this article..
https://news.bitcoin.com/bill-melinda-gates-awards-grant-factom/

In a nutshell, blockchain to secure data, nothing too special there, but some people seem to be taking it pretty seriously, Here are the things that really got my attention:

  • A partnership with Intrinio to keep Wall Street records on the blockchain
  • A grant from the Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
  • Received a grant from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation (BMGF)

One thing I really like is the potential to actually help people, through the Bill Gates foundation they are planning to create blockchain medical records, making things more affordable, and protect records from loss or manipulation.

From the article:
"Factom said the blockchain-based system will give medical professionals and hospitals the data they need in real-time. This can be detrimental to treating diseases in the “ever-shifting environment of the developing world,” it added. A medical professional can access information via a smartphone and look up vaccination records for babies. Or an HIV-infected person can access their own viral load measurement results via the Factom blockchain."

Maybe most people wont see this as huge, as they assume hospitals are quite organized, but trust me, I have a daughter with multiple issues requiring her to regularly visit different medical professionals and they have NO IDEA!! we have to explain her entire history every time, it took us months to get all departments within one hospital to even spell her name correctly.
Bring on the block chain!!

Thanks for reading my first post, looks like you even made it to the end ;)
john

Sort:  

currently looking like a good time to buy also, with a recent dip. I wish I had got in a month ago!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60181.64
ETH 2539.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46