Beginning of my Journey

in #crypto7 years ago

Hello Steemit,

My name is John and I am a young enthusiast in the crypto-market. I have had an Idea in my head to create a blog about my journey and the successes/fails that I have to help people learn just like I am.

My story starts back in high school when bitcoin was at $250. Back then I had no idea what bitcoin was or how it was used all I knew was that I needed it to buy an ID. I bought about .7 bitcoin to complete my transactions and then never touched it again (sadly). My parents did not like the idea of bitcoin and what it entailed and being new to bitcoin, I had no idea either. But little did we know that my original investment of $180 is dollars could be worth $10,000 in today's market.

Fast forward about 3-4 years and it brings us to October 2017. I began to and read about all of the hype surrounding this coin. I heard all of the dream stories of people making fortunes but I also had my doubts about it. As I watched it go up and up to eventually 19K I began to see the potential of this market. On December 1st I went and made accounts on multiple exchanges as well as purchase the book "Cryptoassets" by Chris Burniske and Jack Tatar. I engulfed my self in the world of cyrpo to the point where it was almost obsessive. There was just something in my head that clicked in this market compared to the stock market. Am invested in the Stock Market but by no means as much as I am in the crypto market. There was so much new undiscovered information that the future of this market (good or bad) fascinated me. I had so many ideas bouncing around in my head about how I could contribute to this growing market but with no means and prior knowledge to do so.

As I began to learn more and more about what I was doing, I began to see some profit accumulate in my account. This turned me in to a little kid again because I have never seen my account go up 100% in a little less than 2 weeks time. I was constantly glued to my computer, setting limits and re balancing my portfolio while researching information from various sources to see what the best option at the time would be.

I found one of my best resources to be Tradingview.com. I saw all of the TA that went in to each chart but honestly I had no idea what most of it meant. I eventually learned what some of it meant, but most of it is still a foreign language to me. At this point I realized that I was a newbie in a fast growing market and had to catch on quickly before I got left behind.

But now that college is back in session I no longer have the time to sit at my computer and make these decisions all day. I realized that I could be missing out on some good opportunities to buy and sell. I wondered if there was a way to manage my account while I was not at my computer apart from setting limits. This is when I stumbled upon 2 crypto trading bots that were free and mostly open source. These so called "Trading Bots" are Gekko and Tribeca. After installing and setting up the codes for these bots I realized that I had ABSOLUTELY no idea what I was doing. I had no prior knowledge on how to code, set up strategies, or even using command prompt to install the program!

So this is where this is where our begins.

Growing from newbie to expert over the course of time.

Along the way I would like to have weekly updates on my portfolio, profit/loss, and person/bot usage. I plan on sharing and breaking down how to create your own code as well as using TA to help guide the bots. Items such as what code I am using, how to's, explanations, and much more.

By no means is this investment advice. This will be a first time experience for me as well as for many new readers. I want to show my learning and progress for many newcomers in the future to look toward for help. And hopefully get more involved in the community as I go along.

I plan on doing the very first update on Sunday with all of the details of my starting portfolio, allocation, etc, etc. I am very excited for this and even if no one ends up reading it I will still be posting on here for my own sake. Hopefully this will gain some momentum to spread new knowledge across the community. If there is anyway that I can better this content and make it more user friendly please feel free to let me know.

"A garden requires patient labor and attention. Plants do not grow merely to satisfy ambitions or to fulfill good intentions. They thrive because someone expended effort on them." Liberty Hyde Bailey

Let the Journey Begin,

John

Sort:  

Any good content is worth a read. So do your stuff and if it is interesting it will get read. Thanks for posting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62625.86
ETH 3333.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47