How i started crypto trading - Part I

in #crypto6 years ago

Hello everybody,

i want to start an article series about how i got into cryptocurrencies, especially the trading part. Please note that i am not a native english speaker and feel free to correct me.

As i mentioned before in my first blog entry, i am very interested in games since a long time. It all began around 22 years ago when i discovered Magic: The Gathering. I was instantly hooked by this trading and collectible card game. There were so many opportunites to build different decks, collecting and trading cards and of course, competing with other players. I spent so much time on building my own strategies, endless hours of simulating games versus imaginary opponents. Not only that i got better on a daily basis by playing, i have also learned how valuable different cards have been for me.

In case you don't know about Magic, here is an example of a card:

Image.jpg

By growing up and expanding my network, i have started to trade more actively the less valuable cards against cards that were not only rare but also hard to play against. I offered people huge amounts of cards for only ONE of their cards. Of course, most of them were kids like i was but human behavior doesn't change that much when they become adults ;)

Knowledge and experience give you an advantage over the less experienced and greed makes you very vulnerable.

After a while i was even able to sell my new cards against real money. I used my earnings both for travelling+ tournament entries and also investing to purchase so called "Displays", which was a box containing iirc 36 booster packages, each with 15 cards inside. I took a high risk for a small chance to have valuable cards inside the display but i never went all-in with my money to gamble.

By the time, home computers and the internet became more payable for the "average Joe" and my father bought a computer as a birthday gift for me. This little machine changed a lot and part 2 of this article series will cover my first experiences.

If you ask yourself "what the heck has this story to do with crypto trading" - i am sorry for stealing your time. But keep in mind - it's a marathon, not a sprint. If you liked this article, i would highly appreciate an upvote. Follow me on steemit to get notified when the other parts are online!

Kind regards,
Andy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69828.11
ETH 3825.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55