Is phishing for my Coinbase account proof that cryptocurrencies have hit the big leagues?

in #crypto7 years ago (edited)

I just checked my e-mail and found what appeared to be a Coinbase customer service notice informing me that,

Congratulations! You have successfully sent 0.04804 ETH (worth $12.00 USD) to [REDACTED] using Coinbase. To facilitate this transaction, you paid 0.00021 ETH (worth $0.06 USD) in network fees.

This withdrawal is being sent to an address ("[REDACTED]") that you haven't previously used.

If you believe your account activity is unauthorized, please click the button below to cancel the transaction and restore access to your account.

coinbase scammers screenshot.jpg
Address information redacted by the author

What do you suppose was my first clue that this was a scam? Was it the sender's email address domain "colnbase.support" with a lower-case 'L' instead of an 'i'? Was it the strange website URL that Firefox displayed in the bottom left corner of my window when I hovered my cursor over the link in the e-mail? Or was it the fact that I have no Ethereum on Coinbase, or anywhere else for that matter?

I don't know whether Coinbase had a security breach of their account-holder e-mail addresses or what, but keep an eye out. Don't click strange links in e-mails, no matter how official-looking they may be at first glance. Examine the sender address carefully, check links before clicking on them, verify browser security is active in your address bar, and always assume any unexpected e-mail is a scam until you independently confirm it by accessing the site in question directly.

</blatant-solicitation> Stay safe! And if this was helpful, feel free to send a token of your appreciation to any of the addresses below! </blatant-solicitation>


If you like this post, please comment, follow, and resteem!

coins

Sort:  

Thanks for the heads up! Sometimes i dontread carefully enough. I must always do that

Similar thing happened to me lately. Email from Coinbase notifying me that a new computer tried to access my account (from Russia). Thanks for the post. I will follow your advice. Upvoted.

Hello and welcome to STEEMIT! Please follow and upvote me, as well as all your other friends you connect with here. Have a great day!

Please don't post self-promoting spam comments that don't even address the post.

Edit: 1% flag added because this is the second time you have spammed one of my posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66882.49
ETH 2597.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71