Proof That Even Crypto Veterans Make Mistakes. DOH!

in #crypto5 years ago (edited)

hilarski-crypto-ethereum-metamask-mandala.jpg

It is Not Just Newbies Making Mistakes.

Today I decided to put in some sell orders for Mandala using 200,000 MDX tokens on Fork Delta. I have done this many times with other tokens using my Ledger wallet but this time I decided I was going to use Metamask. I don't know why I chose to use Metamask over my Ledger but I did.

I then proceeded to set up the transaction from my Ledger to Metamask. Prior to trying to copy the Metamask address I had to add MDX as a token in my wallet so I needed the Mandala contract address. I added the coin and proceeded to copy and paste my MDX address on Metamask into MyEtherWallet but there was one problem. I did not verify first! First rule of Crypto is Verify the address you are sending to!!!!

mandala-hilarski-mistake-ethereum.jpg

It appears that when I chose to copy the address on Metamask that the action was not completed and my clipboard still had the MDX contract address. So I sent Mandala 200,000 MDX tokens! I was on the Mandala team so I am confident I will get my tokens back but this just proves that no matter how seasoned you are in Crypto mistakes can happen.

Verify, Verify and Verify Again!

mandala-logo-header.png

Sort:  

this mistakes happen a lot in crypto

Crypto transactions and sending of crypto coins really needs alot of carefulness in other not to transfer your coins to a wrong address, and that is one downside about crypto transfer because when you make a mistake your money is gone for good @hilarski

And this is exactly why I'll be working with the Dapix team to create the FIO protocol. Cryptocurrency is too hard to use.

Slack a little bit and boom!

Just in response to your gif at the bottom of your post @hilarski

Joke of course...But on the other hand, it's good to see that even people like you make mistakes. Makes me feel less bad about myself in regards to all the crazy mistakes I made...
I hope you'll get this resolved soon.

Mistakes can happen to the best of us. But good advice!
Double check everything - and I want to add - don’t move assets when tired 😴

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is why STEEM should incorporate a handshake. Read this old post that explains how STEEM could be far better than other cryptocurrencies because we could have a system that prevents mistakes like you have experienced.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/introducing-the-hand-shake-and-how-it-can-revolutionize-steem-blockchain

Hi @hilarski!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.797 which ranks you at #109 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 279 contributions, your post is ranked at #2. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83