You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crypto Has No Fundamentals or Intrinsic Value? Total BS!

in #crypto7 years ago

If I understood your article well then I respectfully disagree with you on few elements. When you say "crypto" in the title I assume you mean the whole DLT space - blockchains and other technologies and solutions built on top of them (both cryptocurrencies and dapps). Am I right? If so then yes, they have value. Huge value. But please do not mix the value of technology with the value of any given cryptocurrency.

I believe when you said "crypto tokens do have intrinsic value, which is found in their proven ability to disrupt traditional investing markets" you mixed that two aspects. The crypto technology is disrupting markets, right. Faster operations, lower fees, no regulations allow the prices to go up (and down!) very quickly - giving great opportunity for speculation. But it has no relation to the "intrinsic" value of any coin/token you trade. Their value is in the projects behind them - some have it, some don't. To compare with real life - if we create two market halls and one will use USD and another will use Yen (ratio of about 100) they will keep the same value, am I right? If we speed up the circulation of any by enabling some electronic wallets the price will not change in substantial way. So I assume that this is not the "intrinsic" value of any kind.

I still feel "intellectually honest" so please show me where did I made any mistake in my logic.

Furthermore you say "cryptocurrencies are >>timeless.<<". Gold is timeless too. And we use it for thousands of years to exchange value. Cryptocurrencies should use that term in 10 or 100 years maybe - I doubt anyone will be using today's version of Bitcoin with 7 transactions per second speed (and when the supply from mining ends - there will be fees to transfer money) and PoW consuming energy equal to small country . The energy used to protect the network - feat which steem is doing on 21 machines. I predict that either the developers change the code (which takes lot of time but you keep the addresses) or users will migrate to other currency. So at least not every crypto token is timeless. And when I hear that some are scam, created to take people's money and disappear - I doubt they will survive either.

Your comparison to Wall Street is valid though. But has nothing to do with value of any specific coin - this is just new technology allowing speculation worldwide. I still fail to see any intrinsic value of Bitcoin for example. Value - zero or N/A, speculation - 10 000USD

So to just clarify - I see valid points here and there in your text about the technology as a whole and I agree. But if anyone gets the idea of Bitcoin intrinsic value here - might be mistaken. However this doesn't extend to all other cryptocurrencies and tokens.
That's my opinion only of course. I will be very interested if you could show me any loopholes in my process of thinking.

Sort:  

Are you English?

No. Why? Is there any special English logic in my arguments? :)

I'm just impressed by your vigorous prosecution of intentions and arguments that you created for my behalf. I've never seen anything like this before on Steemit, or any social media network!

I'm sorry if I offended you. I just have presented my understanding of your post and presented my arguments. That's all.
I never meant to create any arguments on your behalf. I tried to show clearly when I assume something or deduct from your post.
I'm disappointed that no one did try to argue with my logic.

I'm responding because I assume you are a genuine person and not a troll. The reason no one tried to argue with your logic is that, while you may have made logical statements, your overall arguments are based on points and statements that YOU inferred, and later prosecuted.

You ranted about my calling cryptocurrencies "timeless," for example. I clearly explained this to mean that crypto markets trade 24/7, allowing everyone to trade. You interpreted this literally, which was frankly intellectually dishonest.

I would recommend in the future to stay within the scope of the argument, and not attempt to divert the discussion to a completely unrelated subject.

Also, if you're going to go guns-blazing on someone on Steemit, you should do so with someone of equal reputation. I personally know that many high-powered Steemians have very little patience if you rub them the wrong way, however unintentionally.

Fortunately, I'm not one of them :) Good luck with your Steeming.

Thank you for replying and explaining.
Clearly I misunderstood your main post.
Good luck to you too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56