FitCoin: Proof of Work-Out

in #crypto8 years ago

I'm a personal trainer and I run my own outdoor boot camp program (http://bootcampannapolis.com) and over the past year I've become obsessed with the decentralization movement. I've been thinking about how I could possibly combine these two passions of mine and I have a only a rough idea, on which I would love some feedback.

The idea I have is to create a new token that would use all these wearables people have now (Fitbit, Nike Fuel, etc...) as a "proof of workout", so instead of using electricity to solve cryptographic proofs, you are essentially using physical energy to prove you have competed a physical task. The token would essentially be used only for status or possibly something like a rewards program if any companies choose to add sponsorship.

I don't know any of the specifics beyond this and I suspect that it's not even really ideal to use blockchain for something like this, maybe just some kind of open-source standard instead, that would be implemented by participating wearable companies.

Again, I'd love really any feedback on this idea. It won't hurt my feelings ; I have plenty of others!

Sort:  

Upvoted you

You can crowd fund and crowd source making a video or other media about this idea. So that whether or not the idea can be fleshed out, fun and learning can still happen. A simple implementation would be to create a User Issued Asset on the Bitshares Blockchain. Recently, the peerplays team released an open source graphene module which allows a token to implement profit sharing. Good Luck!

Thanks Ill look into that, though Im nowhere near asking for money yet, even if its just to generate shared ideas. Ill check out that module for sure as Im actually already bought into Peerplays.

I like the idea, and actually I don't think this should be too hard to solve. You just need an oracle to push the fitness data to the blockchain.
Why don't you make s.th. like a 10 week challenge and the harder people work the less they pay?

I personally am quite extrinsic motivated, so I would really like such a program :)

What's with the downvote from @sock?

Idea so silly he thought I was trollin' maybe?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61272.24
ETH 3371.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46