My cryptojourney 2 (HYIP)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #crypto7 years ago (edited)

image.png

Hope you enjoyed My crptojourney 1 (MLM) (https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@drepo15/my-crptojourney-1-mlm)


After saying no to MLMs, I was introduced to HYIP (high yield investment program) which looked really promising and stress free. I opened an account on Aimbtc.com, I got many friends to do same as there was no significant pressure to get referrals as was the case in MLMs.

![image.png]()


Aimbtc presented itself as an online mining company and promised compounding interests, so the longer you left your Bitcoin on their site (i.e. ur deposit in their wallet address) the more you earned. They had a UK office address and several documents making it look really legit. I made some money from it, I had a friend whose initial capital was doubled in about 20days. All deserve made it look too good and I ignored the red flags which were

1. A central account was been used

2. No mining business could give so much interest and decide to just dash it to people all over the world.


Then it happened one day after running for about 5 months, the site stopped opening and we started waiting hoping against hope that it was just an Internet glitch but it all proved futile. Then I realized

1. HYIPs are scams

2. These scammers had carted away with people's hard earned Bitcoin.

3. They were actually paying participants from the deposits of other participants.

4. They stayed long enough to rip as much people as possible.


I felt so bad for my friends that I introduced, some had borrowed hundreds of thousands to participate. DAMN, WE WERE SCAMMED.

![image.jpeg]()

 

I was really pissed but greed (also felt i could be smarter) made me join another HYIP (knowing full well it was another scam) two months later, MINR.BZ because I felt the site was still young (30days), promised payout was in simple interest so I thought the site will last for at least another month. I decided to go in big to recover previously lost funds and stay for just 10 days. ![image.jpeg]() Barely 5 days after making my deposit this site also crashed and it became my greatest singular loss in my crptojourney and I'm yet to recover from it. 


SAY NO TO HYIPs no matter how promising it looks you may just get burnt.


high-yield investment program A high-yield investment program (HYIP) is a type of Ponzi scheme, an investment scam that promises unsustainably high return on investment by paying previous investors with the money invested by new investors. Ref:https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-yield_investment_program


...now I trade altcoins
Sort:  

Forget all HYIP they will fail one day ..sooner than later due to their unrealistic commissions and payout..most are scams and I wrote about them on my blog post. Good luck here.

Feel free to check out my latest blog post : Why Steemit will disrup social media and gain market share

Trading altcoins is profitable, more especially when trading with stop loss on poloniex

i lost fortune...but cryptocurrency has been putting smiles on my face daily...was it making $1000 profit of trading with altcoins in less than 2 weeks? was it the joy steem put in my heart wen shoot up 100% or more....am glad i join the winning teem

Glad u recovered ur losses

Somewhere, at this moment, someone is putting money into yet another HYIP (ponzi program).

So long as greed persists, they'll always be yet another ponzi program.

Questra AGAMs is a case in point. Many will soon be scammed by these shady characters.

Bitconnect, even though listed in coinmarketcap is just another ponzi in disguise

very true
dey jst play on the greed of man

Lost half a million Naira to mmm united but tnk God, started trading on march this year and have fully recovered all my losses.

gr8 testimony

Crypto to the mooon

I cannot forget AIMBtc in a rush, my brother can't either. Lesson learnt.

i can imagine
we really lost a lot

Nice article @drepo15. In as much as ponzi was the undoing of many youths. It was a blessing in disguise for some of us, because it introduced us to the world of digital currency.
One of the reasons why most of us actually fell victim of these ponzi schemes is our greed, our get rich quick mentality and it was our undoing. Most of us lost a fortune to all these ponzi schemes. But thank God for cryptocurrencies trading, we are on our way to recovery.

yeah....dats y its a journey

Ever since i started trading altcoins, i have always wanted a more meaningful insights which your post just provided.thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52