A Floating Country, Decentralized And Powered By Crypto - Seasteading Introduces Varyon

in #crypto6 years ago

I was exposed to seasteading a few months ago, and, in all honesty, I've been immediately hooked up. If you're leaning towards the libertarian side and, as a crypto aficionado, you're surely leaning towards that, you can't avoid being hooked up to such a futuristic idea.

In short, seasteading aims at creating floating communities (or countries, if you want), on international waters. These floating islands will all have their own government and they will offer a much needed restart to people tired of centralized and oppressive governments. All quite utopian, if you ask me and I agree. It's all nice and beautiful on paper, but when you really think about it, this project is ginarmous. Very, very expensive, to start with.

That's probably the reason I didn't hear much about Seasteading, apart from the initial onboarding emails in which I was kindly asked to donate to support the cause.

But recently, this changed, and it changed in a very interesting way.

What's happening, basically, is that Blue Frontier, the company behind the project, is looking into crypto as a way to bring the much needed funds. The token they want to create is called Varyon and it will be used internally by all the seasteading inhabitants. There's a white paper if you want to look at the fine print. And if you want to know more about the entire project, here's the presentation video:



I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Seasteading indeed a massive project that would require a whole lot of funding to pull through. The initiative is a nice one but how realistic is it? I know that nothing is impossible once you set your mind to it but I don't know why the possibility of this one coming to reality just eludes me.

Thats a totallly different i only say just good luck for it.

Seasteading looks like an interesting project and i hope varyon will collect all needed funds in ICO.

Floating countries??.. the idea is really great, i read something about liberland some time ago and it sound similar. Apart from it costing lots of money, am not sure the international community will let it fly

Never heard of that before! Interesting, a resident of a new country in international waters. That's what I call pushing the boat out!

As much as I like the idea of libertarianism, I must disagree with this. There is just too much evil in the world and too many people (me, you and everyone we know included), are prone to the bad influence of possesing great power. We (as humanity) NEED laws in order to survive. Even if there were such an island, where we could make our own rules and laws, the outer world would not approve of this and our wonderful moment of fame would have a very limited duration. It doesn't just sound utopian, it is an utopia.

The idea of floating cities has allows been to me the next world technology and the fact that the company behind this project is looking into crypto makes it a next world technology using a next world currency. Crypto currency, this is big and yet this is still the beginning. Thanks for the good news

Very ambitious project Sounds good on paper but it'll be interesting to see how it turns out

Hi, @dragosroua,

Thanks for giving me the specific seasteading term and Blue Frontiers project I can research and dig in to.

I've heard of sea cities, didn't realize technology is advanced enough to create and sustain whole international sea countries. May be a great alternative to my multi-decade prayer for my own planet. ;)

And you're right. The addition of Varyon crypto takes it to the next level of practical manifestation. Thanks again!

Wow that could power up the crypto in the long term has a huge potential

I Don't know much about the project but if you are informing us about it, it would be a great project, i can bet on this :)
Hopefully, they will get the needed money :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62581.77
ETH 2546.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75