Gold / Silver

in #crypto7 years ago

The earth produces about 10 ounces of Silver for 1 ounce of Gold. The industrial and medical uses for silver outnumber the uses for gold. Yet, in the market it takes 75 ounces of silver to buy 1 ounce of gold. Something smells fishy. drjohnthumb.JPG

In Cryptocurrencies, it takes 109 Litecoin to buy 1 Bitcoin. It takes 76 Steem to buy 1 Litecoin. The fishy smell grows more intense.

The free market explanation suggests that the price difference is simply a matter of popular appeal. This is logical, an at least partly true. However this popularity factor relies on an ignorant public.

I prefer Silver, because it is easier for the average guy to afford. At 75 to 1 it is a bargain. It offers insurance against lost purchasing power of the dollar for much less currency. For those with great wealth, a little gold is also good.

I prefer Litecoin to Bitcoin for similar reasons. Only the greed of people trying to ride the biggest rocket pushes Bitcoin. But again, the basic utility is the same. Litecoin is cheaper.

Steem is the cheapest of the lot. I attribute this totally to ignorance. When the public becomes aware of the long term value of a Steem token, the price will jump.

Which will jump most by percentage in what time frame? This is a question for an investor.

Which will still have value in 10 years? This is a question for a young father or mother.

I try to balance Steem, Litecoin, and Silver.

Here is today's beauty.

snaggletooth (2014 of 1).jpg
Eleanor the Snaggletooth

Sort:  

The difference is due to popularity and time of discovery

Eleanor is beautiful.
Aloha @drjohn! I agree with you on the bitcoin to LiteCoin ideology. However, I did a bad bad thing lately. I sold some...some silver for cryptos.

Anyhoo, have a wonderful day @drjohn!!!

Not a bad thing! My silver is my foundation rather than my upper floor structure... It's your house. Build as you wish!

Good!!!

do you think the limit of 21 M BTC is the key for the valuation, we are already at close to 17M mined.

I am no expert! My opinion is that the limit is a notion to pre-answer the argument of unlimited printing as is done in fiat currency. It makes sense. But I think current price action is mostly FOMO.

Can't argue with this logic. As long as the Steem team can figure out further ways to increase the speed while maintaining scalability and free transactions, as long as they can pull the trigger at the right time and market the coin correctly Steem could be the new rocket everyone hopes to catch.

The risks are the reason for diversity. I don't want all my eggs in one basket.

Not understand

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83