You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is the Gender Divide in the Crypto World Necessary?

in #crypto6 years ago

I am very interested in this issue as well and I share your experience so far of feeling supported and welcomed in a very generous way but men here at Steemit . I am experiencing a lot of unlearning because in my real life world , any time I have gotten into vocal or leadership positions of any kind I get shot down and lots of challenges thrown my way by others, even when my skills match that of the men in the same role. I am very conditioned to feel guarded and careful about stepping up for this reason. But each time I have tried to share my voice here, men and women alike have been supportive. When I have felt unsure or confused, plenty of men have let me know they believe in me here. it is not perfect here at Steemit because sometimes I have heard of some forms of exclusionary behavior but it is a lot better.

I really like what you chose to do with this post. I like that you highlighted men who treated you with equality and respect , and shared a little but how they did so and how it helped you. I think that is a helpful way to keep that kind of respect flowing.

Sort:  

Hello @dflo, thanks for your honest comment here, I really appreciate it! I really understand and I think so many of us have had similar difficult experiences -

in my real life world , any time I have gotten into vocal or leadership positions of any kind I get shot down and lots of challenges thrown my way by others, even when my skills match that of the men in the same role

I'm sorry this has happened to you and to all of us! All the ways we are made to feel less valued add up a lot and can be very difficult to overcome.

I agree that steemit can be and often is incredibly supportive but also echo your thoughts that there is definitely lots and lots of room for improvement here!! There is some pretty awful crap too.

I hope that you continue to have good experiences and that more unlearning happens :-), you can count on my honest support!

I really liked the strong women of the early tech industry portrayed in AMC’s Halt and Catch Fire and the narrative about the company Donna and Cameron built together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50