Can someone help me understand what "Power Up" / "Power Down" means in the Wallet section?

in #crypto8 years ago

Apologies for the noob question, but I have three:

  • I just purchased some Steem and I see an option that says "Power Up" like the image below. I also see "Power Down" next to the Steem Power dropdown. What do these mean exactly?

  • What is the "Estimated Value" in the bottom of the pic being derived from? It says Estimated Value of $33.44 but my Steem alone should be worth more than $60
  • What's the different between Steem and Steem Dollars, if I want to trade/speculate on the price should I just deal with Steem?

Thanks

Sort:  

Power Up = Convert STEEM to STEEM Power
Power Down = Convert STEEM Power to STEEM, not immediately but in batches of 7 days for 1 to 2 years as far as i know :-)

STEEM generally is just meant as a transfer vehicle between BTC etc. and STEEM Power, whereas STEEM Dollars should always be valued at 1$.

Thank you

what is the recommended amount of STEEM POWER to hold on the STEEMit acount? Furthermore, how does a certain amount of STEEM POWER on the account affact earning potential?
Thank you in advance!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66