100,000 lines of code and 6 months later...ITS READY

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

No journey worth taking is easy.

6 months ago I decided to embark on a journey - one that I knew could be just as devastating as it could rewarding.

Perhaps its best to start from the end. So here I am, 180 days, 2 native apps, and 100,000 lines of code later, glad to introduce to you, Cryptonomy.

Cryptonomy is a complete community-based ecosystem for crypto-enthusiasts that includes portfolio tracking, news aggregation, real-time forum (stack-overflow style), live chats, ICO listings, educational material, and more. Its a "one-stop-shop" where you can get all of the information that you need, at the tip of your fingers, delivered in a simplistic and convenient way.

Now that I'm done with my spiel, I'll go back to the start.

I've always been a dreamer. Small kid, big ambitions, and an even greater desire to, one day, create things that people would really appreciate. With a computer by my side from an early age, and whether it was playing Heroes of Might & Magic, or counter-Strike (v1.5), it was natural that I eventually became obsessed with programming. I mean, what better way to make my dreams into reality?

I started coding at a relatively late age (23, 5 years ago), and built my first app a few months later. It was a hybrid of Instagram meets Tinder - nothing revolutionary, but you could say thats the day I fell in love.

It blew my mind that I could simply sit at a computer, move around my fingers, and create something that people all over the world can use and enjoy. I was so excited that I actually couldn't, and didn't want to go to sleep. A few days later, and an initial (although poorly made) version of the app was ready. That's was pretty much the turning point for me, and the moment where I really think I found a purpose in life.

Over the next few years, I continued to explore the world of product development

I built and released over 20 apps (here is a list of some of them):

  • GroupWize - The world's biggest chat analytics app (over 1B chats analyzed)
  • Phlex Fitness - Gyroscope and accelerometer based workout tracking (before they had wearables)
  • StoryTime - Group & event-based stories (before stories were everywhere)
  • Spin - Digital jukebox for freestyling and beatboxing
  • Alarmu - Step-based alarm clock, that won't turn off until you walk X amount of steps
  • Mojify - Edit photos & paste emojis freely (before everyone started doing this
  • Dabble - Knowledge as a service marketplace
  • Parker - On-demand parking marketplace

With every product I shipped, I could see the progress I was making and that provided further motivation to keep on working hard. I always told myself, "every failure is just another failure less towards success".

Fast forward to 6 months ago

I'm now jobless after another "failed" venture, GroupWize (although it got to the #1 spot in my local app store, and had hundreds of thousands of downloads in 2 weeks, I ultimately lost money working on it).

The exciting world of Blockchain & Cryptocurrencies

I found myself intrigued by the rapidly growing crypto scene, yet surprised to discover there wasn't an accessible nor reliable platform that enabled other crypto-enthusiasts like myself, to connect, discuss and gather information.

Everything was so fragmented, dull, and not designated towards crypto..so I simply started building. 3 days later and the initial portfolio tracking portion of the app was ready (and is very much the backbone of the app today)

A simple portfolio tracker was nice, but I wanted something more, so I added a chat functionality with several built-in channels covering popular topics in crypto.

One of the neat things I added was the "App Talkbox" channel which allowed users to directly chat with me about issues in the app, but more importantly, provide authentic feedback and conduct a discussion about features/changes they think would be good to add to the app. It was a great way for me to provide quality support for users and have their voice heard - its also quite humbling hearing them say "You guys rock", or "What an amazing support team you have". If they only knew it was just me on my phone responding to them :). Onwards, I added a "News" tab, which contained top aggregated crypto news as well as specific coin news (if you drill-down to a specific coin), since I thought it would be extremely convenient to go from an article to the specific coin's information, and vice versa.

Soon after I added an "Academy" section, which comprised of a 7-lesson crypto crash course, as well as a crypto FAQ and general knowledge base. This is something that I didn't see in any other apps, and I thought would be useful for on-boarding users with no basic prior knowledge in crypto, but that were eager to get involved. I also see this expanding and allowing creators to upload their own, more advanced content, and provide it to other users on the Cryptonomy.

With the app beginning to become a bit feature-heavy, I felt the urge to crank-in one more feature, and this was a big one, the forum. One of the issues I had with the crypto-communities was reliability. You didn't know the identity of who you were talking to on the various channels (which is fine), but not knowing there incentives was dangerous in my opinion. I wanted to see a user's activity, the posts they wrote, their replies, etc - so a community forum with user profiles and reputation was a great way to solve this.

COPY + (ALMOST) PASTE

Although the screenshots here are of Android, the initial app was built natively on iOS (Swift). I actually re-wrote the whole app for Android (Java) in order to reach a wider audience. The iOS app alone took me a long time to build, so needless to say, building another almost identical version of it on Android was painful, but a must.

There's a lot more cool things on Cryptonomy, but I wanted to just focus on the core functionality.

HUMBLED

It hasn't been easy, and I've sacrificed a lot to get Cryptonomy to where it is today, but there is no doubt in my mind that it has been worth it. As a creator, there is no greater feeling then hearing positive feedback about something that you've built. Sure, there will always be negative feedback (and its important to listen to it as well), but the little virtual "pat on the back" you get from YOUR users is incomparable. While it's still the beginning of yet another journey, the love & support I've been getting from various communities is a seal-of-approval that Cryptonomy is going to be a substantial product in the world of crypto.

I apologize for making this lengthy, but I had a lot to share (and still have a lot more).

I'd be grateful for any of you reading this to simply download and rate the app (it really helps!)

Download for iOS - https://cryptonomynow.com/ios
Download for Android - https://cryptonomynow.com/android

Please let me know what you think, and feel free to share your feedback by commenting below!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my journey.

And if anyone feels like donating:
BTC - 1AP6JCkpw4Yu9dwkVGnsj2mF9R6er1x2BQ
BCH - 13RzvX7duzPD2vrLbbSic59ppDLmuWMxqh
ETH - 0x748192EdC6a41337dea4c150BAf79752a4c3eC4c
LTC - LLpZwWTeECtnUKmVXtxQHbJJo3BezcPWcb

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit from Indonesia, this is an amazing platform for creativity and imagination. Share, comment and make friends

Congratulations @cryptonomyapp! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cryptonomyapp! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55802.73
ETH 2969.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22