Crypto Has Canadian Banks Running Scared

in #crypto7 years ago

The following is a true story that occurred a few hours ago.

This morning, I went to TD bank, one of the major banks in Canada. I was interested in opening an account, because I needed to use Interac Online to fund my QuadrigaCX account (the largest Canadian cryptoexchange). Due to my dissatisfaction with our banking system in Canada, I bank through a credit union. Unfortunately, my credit union doesn’t offer Interac Online. So, I was forced to make an exception and try using TD to speed up my QuadrigaCX funding.

The beginning of my appointment was amicable enough. They asked me all the basic questions. They chatted with me about my job in insurance. They talked to me about my level of financial knowledge, which is quite good for someone my age. All-in-all, I probably appeared to be an upstanding citizen.

Then, when they asked about my banking needs, I told them that I needed a chequing account to use Interac Online. This sounded innocuous enough to them, so they printed the paper work and asked me to sign on all the dotted lines.

Bingo. I was in business with TD.

Now they just needed to order me an Interac Online bankcard. The young bank employee helping me excused himself to ask his manager about how to do this. Before leaving he said, “What do you need to use Interac Online for? Is it a secret or do you care to share?” I told the truth, and told him that I would use it to fund my QuadrigaCX account to purchase cryptocurrencies. The young man helping me had a decent grasp of what crypto was all about, so we had a good chat about some of the coins he was familiar with. I thought little of this, and he left to ask his manager about ordering me that Interac Online card.

When he returned to the room, his disposition had darkened. “I’m sorry,” he said. “We can’t open this account for you.”

I already knew why. I had a silent chuckle to myself and just smiled at him. He proceeded to tell me that TD bank is doing whatever they can to prevent people from using their services to purchase Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies.

Cryptocurrencies already have the financial industry running scared. They weren’t going to do anything today that would help undermine their stranglehold on the monetary system, like allowing the likes of me to open a bank account.

I signed the account closure forms. I thanked the young man for his help and shook his hand. Then I walked out of the bank building. That building is crumbling at the foundations, yet few people can see the cracks yet.

TD’s refusal to allow me to do what I want to do with my own money only reinforces the need for decentralized and non-institutionally regulated currencies. The influx of capital into the cryptomarket has caused the banking industry’s ears to perk up. At first they laughed at the idea, and now they fear it.

However, the genie is out of the bottle. In fact, the genie has been out of the bottle since Satoshi Nakamoto published his original paper on Bitcoin in October, 2008. We can’t go back. Maybe it won’t be Bitcoin. Maybe it won’t be Ethereum. Maybe it won’t be any of the top 100 coins. But we can’t forget that the feasibility of cryptocurrencies has been demonstrated, tested, and it has survived all of the full-frontal attacks thus far.

As I left the bank, I thought that I heard a low rumble, as if another new crack had formed in the foundation of currency as we know it today.

Like this post? Please feel free to follow me

Learn about My Opinions On Flagging Posts

Discover why Success Is Like A Mountain

Read my opinion on Creating First And Asking Questions Later

Read my article on Vulnerability in Art

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Image Credits: main image created in Canva; fancy underline credit; Bitcoin logo; Ethereum logo; Litecoin logo; comicbook man



Sort:  

If they were smart, they will put some money in good prjoects in crypto space and increase returns for their customers instead of getting scared.

I cannot agree more. The time to learn about it is now.

That sucks. I hate it when one's intentions are good and you tell the truth just to have it blow up in your face. Good luck with finding an alternative.

It sucks, but I'm glad I didn't lie still. I have nothing to hide. And yes, I'll find an alternative soon.

Thanks for commenting and voting @Chr7is. See you in Discord!

The future is cryptocurrency... Everyone has to embrace this fact

Agreed. We should embrace it, rather than fear it.

great job. And they'll certainly do the impossible, but the Cryptos will survive and defeat.

hmm we will know thanks for the story

If banking fraternity does not keep up with new FinTech I think this will happen more and more often.

Pity you didn't get the account, I hope you questioned why @chrismccron

Yes, they need to adapt rather than reject it!

could it be the bank employees themselves uses cryptocurrency but prevent others to do so to control the market? In my friends case, they charge a heavy tax if we want to use the local currencies to buy btc or drawing out btc for local currencies
I think it's their way of controlling people. Because if everyone is using cryptocurrencies and no one is using money from the banks, how are they going to make money then?

I think the higher ups at the bank just want to slow down the rate of cryptocurrencies' expansion.

Wonderfull!!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ChrisMcCron from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @chrismccron! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52