You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unboxing Video - My Hardware Wallet Came in the Mail! // Let's Talk About Security

in #crypto6 years ago

Ahhh I'm so jealous! I've been meaning to get me one of these, and I have heard great things about the Nano Ledger S. I have been putting it off as well. Once I get my portfolio a little closer to where I want it to be, I'm definitely picking one of these up. It would be pretty devastating to lose everything we have hustled for.

Sort:  

Get one! They're awesome :) check out the Trezor. A little more pricey, but I like the interface better. Much faster to access different coins. #onelove #dtube

For sure! I have heard of that one as well. I will definitely consider it when the time comes! Appreciate the advice!

In my opinion, this should be near the top of your list, leaving your crypto investments sitting on any of the exchanges for a long period of time is a bit risky (unless you are actively trading on the exchanges). Once set up, the Nano S Ledger is very easy to use, and gives such good peace of mind that all your coins are safely stored away.

Ah! To clarify, I don't let my investments sit on exchanges. I keep them in wallets off of the exchanges. Thanks for the concern though! If I was leaving my investments on exchanges, that would definitely be concerning. Even the most secure and reputable exchanges are targets and can be vulnerable to hacks. Some people never think that it will ever happen to them until it actually does.

I am looking forward to getting a ledger though. Once I get one, I might invest in and place it in a nifty little fire safe. Might be a little overkill.. but actually maybe not? What if that 21 word passphrase were to get burned up too in the case of a fire? haha :)

I've seen various tips on how to keep your nano s ledger safe, as well as the 24 word key phrase... Fire proof safe is an excellent idea! Also, consider storing the 24 word phrase in an encrypted file on a USB memory stick, then storing this in a different location (parents house for example). One other tip I came up with is to use a book to store your 24 key word phrase in, if you have a lot of books on your bookshelf this can be a nice place to hide it... (please note these are just my ideas and I'm not suggesting that this is what you must do, simply what I have thought about / read about over time).

It’s so worth it!! I feel so much better now knowing all of my funds are secure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39