You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I (finally) read Bitcoins whitepaper today...

in #crypto7 years ago (edited)

I probably have something in about 10-12 cryptos - and I mean, timing was everything. I cannot get over how lucky I was (ether at $10! Nem at...whatever it was in early spring lol, my favorite brag of my lone btc back at $400...less a brag and more just, amazed). I didn't read whitepapers (shame shame!) but checked forums and tried to at least get a basic grasp of each one.

You may be new - but you are a fast learner and have a natural talent for teaching/explaining. Why read a whole white paper - when I know you'll distill the important parts down and translate them to English.

I don't think I've ever even been to 2nd page of coinmarket cap, let alone 3rd (but you're so right - it's way down on the list where the less discovered gems are). As crazy as it sounds, I don't think I even stumbled into crypto back in 2013 thinking about investing...I mean kind of, I hoped they'd go up - but part of me didn't even expect them to. And plenty didn't - they were BTC knock offs - but a lot did. Of course, returns are incredible and exciting...but like you say, it's all about controlling emotions and not FOMOing too hard now that even alt coins are in mainstream headlines.

I think I saw Tron on a major news outlet the other day - that means you are probably right about it being inflated right now. Gonna check out the others you mentioned, and sources too - down the rabbit hole for me lol.

One I'm kicking myself for not putting a bit into is Sia Coin...been watching it for too long.

I think overall - cryptos are in a bubble right now (but not the end of the world bubble, bubbles are fine, normal and happen in every sector). No idea what stage though. I wish we could just catch a glimpse into the future to see if our core holdings all make it out and up - or sink!

Sort:  

I’m with you on Sia...but I don’t know about it enough to jump in now, it may also be overinflated.

I say as long as you keep half your stuff in more “stable” coins and the other in riskier ones, you are bound to come out ahead, maybe way ahead, maybe just a bit. I’m not putting too much into bitcoin until they fix the scaling and get the fees down, until then it’s litecoin dash and Etherium for me. I’m putting a lot into EOS too because Dan knows how to build things that people can use. Whether or not they work in the long run is yet to be seen but at least I know that will go up in the future.

Being at steemit automatically makes us more knowledgeable than the average layman. Find two or three people you trust here and one or two on youtube and compare what they say, make your own deduction and BOOM, you are a millionaire.

Yeah - I'm going to share a secret...this is a confessional. I don't believe in BTC long term. It's got first mover advantage - and some heavy institutional investors behind it - and that's about it. I still maintain it will always have 'collector value'...but for all the problems you mentioned, and then some...

You're probably right on Sia - FOMO-vestors are just looking down the charts, seeing what's up and throwing in money. Wait til it settles down.

Did you hear about Verge coin? $1 last year would be $1 million today. I think I'm gonna take a $100 and go for every coin that's like $.00000001 lol. And find these crypto sages you speak of haha

Yay Steemit - Dan + co were pretty brilliant with Steemit - the only way to ensure people use your crypto is to create an eco-system that depends on it...genius.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62613.64
ETH 2438.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67