How Do You All Track Your Crypto Investments - Soo Many Coins!

in #crypto7 years ago

Too Many Coins!!!

I have a lot of coins and a specific problem where keeping track of all of them is becoming cumbersome. I have around 12 coins and plan to add more soon. I really enjoy diversifying and adding my stake to a lot of different fields of usage.

water-2438837_640.jpg

My issue is that trying to follow my portfolio is becoming more and more difficult. So what do I use?

Blockpholio

By far the bread and butter of my current crypto habits of following the worth of coins and portfolio worth.

While I truly do love Blockpholio, I have a few gripes with it:

  1. It doesn't make it easy to add fees into it. This makes me have to gestimate to ridiculous decimals to get the exact amount of crypto that I bought. They could easily fix this by allowing either the price bought at or the total price to be variables where whichever one isn't filled is calculated. But no, it is made extremely difficult.

  2. All of your information is stored remotely. as a Security Analyst, these are things I take into consideration as information about your portfolio can be used to identify you and possible social engineer you or attack you in some way.

  3. Because of this centralization of your data, if you don't have service, you don't have access to looking at your portfolio. If I don't have service, I would still like to be able to see what the price was maybe the last time I loaded the app or an n/a over current price.

  4. High demand seems to be slowing down the server on the back end. This causes you to not be able to call up past transactions or show a graph at all. I am okay with a server getting my information to make a graph, but I don't want that server to be the only thing holding my data.

Alternatives?

'

Most alternatives seem to require internet and hold your information off your phone.

I am looking into Delta, as it seems to have a much nicer UI and maybe a few more features including fees. Unfortunately, I believe it is also all server side. But, even if it is all server side, at least it doesn't seem to lag like Blockfolio does. I am also looking into altpocket.io. Not sure how I feel about having my information out their like that though. Seems like it could become an issue. I know it does have some privacy settings though, although trusting a website to protect your data is becoming harder and harder to do. I have also tried cointracking.info, but I wish I could use the API's without paying over $100 in Bitcoin just to have the ability to do it.

ring-binders-aligned-2654130_640.jpg

I am beginning to feel anxious because the amount of tx's I have are beginning to grow and the longer it takes for me to choose the best tool, the harder it will be to transfer over my backlog of tx's. Currently, no app I have found has been able to follow everything perfectly, including imports from exchanges or CSV files.

Thoughts?


-BiasNarrative


Do you understand your keys?

Your Steem Wallet and You

Sort:  

i like blockfolio as well... started using altpocket round Christmas time..and only imported the few small trades i was doing so like a couple hundred dollars worth of info on there.. i'm with you on trusting any company online to have your best interests in mind when it comes to your data.. but so far it's nice to be able to see them all in real time in one place and whatnot.. seems cool so far.... lol but doesn't it always at first

I downloaded Blockpholio about a week ago to keep track of my BTC and how much I've made/lost since I sold my Steem. I'm looking to invest in other cryptos soon when the alts are on a sale.

I know the feeling, it can be so frustrating to add new transactions, it took me a bit to figure it out and update my portfolio, but after all, it seems to be the best app. ;)

I speak the same problem. And, the only website I am using at the moment is cryptocompare since that was the only place I knew prior you're mentioning Blockpholio. By far, I only store them around exchanges and have been planning to downsize my altcoin investment and focus only on 3/4 maximum.

Now, I am going to check out blockpholio and see if it fits my needs. Especially that you mentioned, they stored information remotely and just like yourself, I take this into consideration.

cointracking.info also seems pretty nice. You might want to see if that could be right for you. You can still import csv files from a lot of different exchanges.

what do you think about Coinigy? Espcially for trading it can be handy

Honestly, I have never tried it, I will have to look into it. But I don't know if I like it trading for me.

@biasnarrative. Bro For you coinswallet is very usefull ..here the most the all coin wallers adresses are availble in one applicatiin and its a very easy to exchange also.within few seconds it will exchange one coin to another coin...all coin waller adress are availble also you no need to create a new adresses ..if you want to redeem any amount from any where in a different coins ..you can easily give a adress of this app and reddem it easily ...

I use cointracking, but I have about the same issues.

I like blockfolio. at one point I was going thru all wallets and exchanges daly with a calculator... blockfolio is much easier hahaha

This may not be the answer to your question, but I use Bittrex for my portfolio? It's an exchange site rather, so I'm unsure if it's exactly the solution but..

Try CoinTracking.

It is pretty complete, and you can import the transactions from exchanges and wallets.

The bad part is that in the free version you can only enter 200 transactions.

But i will pay when i have some extra money.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32