December 10x challenge update - day 3

in #crypto7 years ago

Today has been a tough day on the market.

Bitcoin has maintained a level above $11500 and Some select alts have mooned. I should have been able to predict the Weed and marajuana coins would pump in tandem - like they always do - seemingly monthly now. Going forward I'll be looking for one of them to make a move first then take a position on one of the others to try and ride the wave.

At writing Hempcoin - THC is 84% up. this kind of rise is daily. If you are new to crypto then its not uncommon for seemingly useless coins to pump and dump 50% or more in a day. The tricky part is Predicting it.

Today I have been slightly unsettled. I see a long term future for NEM/XEM (New Economy Money) and I would take a long term position without hesitation. Today however I tried to day trade and I failed.

XEM.PNG

The first blue vertical line represents my buy point. the second is where I sold. I was hoping when i bought it that that would be the bottom of the downtrend as indicated by the support line of its previous short term low (orange horizontal)

So i took a small BTC loss. Had I let it run longer the price would have decreased as is shown in the graph and I may have panic sold at that point. ad i waited even longer then the price would have recovered to the level where I sold at already. in my opinion this was a good call to exit the position so that I can free up funds to look for another opportunity.

Entry - 0.00002515
Exit - 0.00002443

A loss of 2.86% - 3.36% after fees

Where I did do well today was with NXT.

The price had pumped already when I noticed it at first today. I was monitoring the order book for about 15 minutes and I noticed the price begin to approach its 24 Hr high. I then noticed the Sell walls starting to fall and thought there may be an opportunity to ride the next wave up.

nxt trade.png

I did so and I entered my position at 0.00003578 - I exited at 0.00003769 - a gain of 5%. perfectly healthy. If it was possible to consistently make even 1% a day guaranteed; I could afford not to work full time and live off the proceeds of my main portfolio.

Next trade was Unneccessary but i spotted a potential opportunity on Binance Exchange

gvt.png

GVT Is in an overall uptrend and the ascending triangle was about to converge. I felt that it had more chance to break out up rather than down.

Unfortunately the price decreased and I took a loss of about 8% net

I also sacrificed some BTC by transferring to and from Bittrex to Binance exchange.

Opening BTC balance - 0.00571788

Closing BTC balance - 0.00484326

(Transfer fees are low in value but high as a percentage of the small amount of money this experiment uses - if the overall value was say £2000 the transfer fee would be negligible)

Every day is a school day.

I think tomorrow I will actually either sit down at a table and trade or I'll head out to Costa or Starbucks or somewhere for a while - time permitting - to devote time to trading. Today I was trading in between cleaning, watching football and running errands. Not ideal and quite distracting.

The next learning outcome from today is not to naively jump in to a position. I got lucky with NXT, I got unlucky with XEM and GVT. Tomorrow I will be lucky twice out of three times.

If any more seasoned traders read this and can critique my TA, particularly on GVT and XEM it would be appreciated.

Dan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58047.91
ETH 2348.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37