Crypto, Stocks, and Finance: Where's Your Bullshit Detector At?

in #crypto6 years ago

cryptoVsStock-678x381.jpg

What's ip Steemians! Been a minute since I've posted, I was busy doing Vegas the wrong way (more on that tomorrow), but today I had a thought on the train home that I could not parse out, so I wanted to try and put it out here in text form and see if y'aa can tell me if it's cogent.

It bothers me when people try to use their resume, in whatever field they may be in but especially finance, to prop themselves up as somewhat resembling an expert on the subject. Sure, academically, one could conceivably come close to wizard levels, but in practical terms, no-one ever figures it all out. It's about the quality of the information you have on the subject your discussing and the intent you have in using it in discussion.

I work in the financial services industry (and per that certain industries regulations, I shouldn't disclose in what or for whom I work), and as of late something has made itself apparent to me: no-one knows it all. Not even close, actually. We're all just playing along with what 'knowns' we know, and extrapolating the 'unknowns' we don't. I can tell you all about stocks someone else can tout themselves a credit expert, and this other guy has the ins with venture capital. The only thing they all have in common as that they all peddle in prognostication. Some people have better information, that could be true, but that doesn't necessarily replace a track record, and is certainly no guarantee of future consistent results. I just try to seek out the individuals who tend to tell it to me straight- good, bad, and ugly.

I really like cryptocurrency. I enjoy the technical aspects of it, like looking at charts and average price trends. I even like the research and analysis aspect of it, trying to sort through Reddit posts for a gem of an idea. I also very much like trading it, but I also like investing in it. Do i consider myself an expert? No. Do people ask me my opinion and advice on it? Yes. Why? Because I seek out the information, attempt to synthesize it into coherent understandable chunks, and use those to teach and guide people so that they can hopefully enjoy it as much as I do; or at least find some value in the information. The point is, everything is relative. Go find someone that you respect, respects. Read them. Then go find the individuals that that guy respects, and learn from them. Twitter is great for this.

So if you want to learn more about personal finance, are ready to start investing in the stock market, confused as fuck about bitcoin, or just generally interested in exploring the world of money, go out and do some research. The good news is that the sooner you start the better your bullshit detector gets.

As usual, I won't include any links to individuals or sources that I deem quality so that I'm not coloring your perspective on my opinion.

As always, thanks for reading, appreciate ya.

Go ahead and follow for more insights like this (or to hate read it because I use highfalutin words too much). Resteeming would be v much thanked as well. Finally, comment what your thought on these types is, and how you sort through the noise to find stuff that impacts your worldview.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85