My experience testing Android devices for crypto mining...

in #crypto7 years ago (edited)

Hi there.

I used to have large PCs with a dozen video cards hooked up and mining. When my father passed away, I no longer had a place to host my rigs with free electricity and internet. So I put everything in storage, only to have that broken into and everything stolen.

Now, I'm attempting to re-enter the crypto hobby space, and here is my test hardware:

Pixel 2 (4x2.35 GHz, 4x1.9ghz) 4 ram 64gb
Android Box (4x2ghz) 2gb ram 16gb

On my Pixel 2, mining Monero with 8 threads, my hash rate it is an average of 36 H/s.

On my Android box, mining Monero with 8 threads, my has rate is an average of 24 H/s.

The Pixel 2 could earn me, approx, $10 CAD per year and the Android box could earn me, approx, $7 CAD per year.

While these devices do require power, they will be powered through my ISPs modem with two USB ports on the back; this way, powering both devices may only cost a couple extra dollars per year at most.

Purchasing these devices for mining profit is not wise. If you have a stock pile of these devices, using them in this manner can earn you some money on the side. My next step is to convince some friends to get in on this and create my own private mining pool with several dozens of devices mining at the same time.

Now, I'd like the community's opinion... Which altcoins do you think is best to mine on these devices? Monero seemed like the easiest to test, but I'd like to maximize the mining potential; I say, again, I'd like to maximise mining potential (AKA long term hold).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58139.39
ETH 2454.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36