A monthly crypto salary. How about that?

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

If you read this post you know for sure what cryptocurrencies are, the name of some of the famous ones (at least), what is a blockchain(kinda) and how high in price BTC went a few months ago. If you are really into the environment then there is a big chance that you might also "produce" your own with all sort of mining rigs.

Despite the crypto dip, or dips, that we've seen lately people are still talking about blockchain technology a lot and about the future of it, how they think the price of some their favorite currencies will evolve in the years to come and why not, see them as an actual world accepted currency. I do believe that too, as I am sure money don't ever remain "in the same form" and payments and trades all over the world are in a continuous evolution.

I am curios though how many of us and all the folks that are so excited about the crypto world are willing to have their monthly wage paid in cryptocurrencies?

Let's say that you're working at the company X and are very excited about everything that I mentioned above regarding the crypto world and one day your boss comes to you and say that he is willing (or the company) to pay your salary in cryptocurrencies calculated at the moment you agree with that decision would you accept that? There would be a certain time frame though to decide in opting for such a form of payment. Something like 10 days from the day you were informed about the option or something and the amount of cryptos you will receive should be decided on the price of these at that time.

cryptocurrency-3415066_1280.jpg
image source

I am very curious to see how many of the millions of crypto enthusiasts, that would almost bet their life for the future of crypto, agree to have their work paid in cryptocurrencies. Considering that such currencies can't be spent yet at any cafeteria or supermarket it is supposed that at some point in time these people will have to exchange them to fiat and none of them is pegged yet, except USDT from what I know.

Having in mind that they are as volatile as can one imagine someone who is paid in his beloved currencies might face the situation of having just half the amount of money that he usually gets monthly, if he decides to exchange them at the current price. Or in an ideal situation he might get ten times the usual loan if that month would be for his cryptocurrency chosen for payment in a bull market like we had in December.

The way I see the situation with cryptocurrencies right now and their volatility in the above imagined scenario, someone being paid for his work in cryptos might feel like his getting lottery tickets every month. In about twenty years I can see some of the cryptocurrencies as world wide accepted currencies, with actual payment use at every corner, but not all of them and not very soon.

Until then for many of us it is all about the money when dealing with cryptos. That money that we call FIAT and we dream to opt out as soon as possible and opt into cryptos. You have to admit though that it would be a provocative situation to have your salary paid in cryptocurrencies. BUT there is still some time to pass, regulations and laws to be enforced until we will have a crypto world. I admire though the courage and faith of the ones who already opt in working for cryptos.

Especially the crypto miners. I have a friend mining for about a year now and the one thing that I've noticed changed about him is the sense of freedom that he expresses. He said that he can't even imagine working again and having a boss and 9 to 5 working time or a fixed income. Not everyone shares his enthusiasm though, especially the ones who lost money with trading. Despite the low prices that we currently have he's confident and HODLing until the next all time highs. He also trusts in the future of world accepted cryptos as a form of payment, but for the moment he is in it just for the money.

What's your take on the topic?I'm curious.

Sort:  

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

I think getting 100% paid in crypto is very risk move. But would accept without thinking a part job where I could get few coins... sometimes when I talk about to crypto to some family and friends I fell that they have a different wavelength and sometimes they simply don’t get why mining ⛏ XMR for less than a dollar a day or post on steemit for few cents is worth the work... maybe it is daydreaming but these can soon pay more than a full time job anytime soon...

Indeed. We need to see these things from a future perspective and not only the current prices and situation.

Andreas Antonopuolos doesn't even recommend going 100% crypto.

That said, I would be happy as shit about 50% crypto and would do it if my wife was down for the ride. The reason? You're wrong about not being able to spend it in the cafeteria.

The coinbase shift card allows you to spend crypto for no fees straight from your coinbase wallet. No fees to transfer. No yearly fee. Just a $10 one time fee for a Visa debit card that is tied to your coinbase.

Also look into purse.io. Amazon shopping with crypto while saving 5-30%.

I'm going to set one up ASAP when I start mining. Need to make a plan for that, as a matter of fact. Looking like I should be mining (very small scale) this time next week. I'm doing it to decentralize my earnings. Even if I'm mining a mere $100 a month, that's an extra 1/30 of my income into liberty and growth in the system of the future. It's my chance to grow and expand in a direction toward sustainable Independence.

This place is growing so much during our current dip. We got this fam. Embrace the dip. Buy the dip.

Thanks for sharing your perspective. Didn't know about the coinbase and visa partnership and that debit card. Curious though how much the place will go during the dip as it seems to be a long one...

My opinions on this space are almost exclusively philosophical. I'm here because it's a competitor and alternative to the central banking system that were forced and coerced into using. What I see in this dip is that people that are here for the wrong reasons are leaving. People that don't believe in this change are selling out. Buy it up when they do.

Honestly, as much as I talk about how cool it would be if steem hit $10, I don't care. I want the dollar to hit $0. Then we won't measure steem in USD. Now that is a goal :)

The dollar will hit $0 at one point in time for sure, but until then will pass some time. It's not USA only that has to adopt cryptocurrencies as actual currencies and it will be pretty hard to implement that to the whole world. I do believe though in such a reality, but until then I wish to make some dollars with my crypto investment. Thanks for the resteem.

The more we do here, the sooner the fiat system will fail :)

I really like your posts bud. Keep it up.

Thanks. Steem on!

Crypto currencies is very risky but No1 business in the future

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25