TaaS is Out in the Wild!

in #crypto-watch7 years ago (edited)

I'm just going to cheerlead for a bit over here on something other than STEEM. In one of my previous posts, I've recommended TaaS (Token-as-a-Service) and now it's out on exchanges, coming out of the ICO phase. So it just became a little more recommendable. Personally, I think this is one interesting long-term project. Having a TaaS token is quite like having a group of fund managers looking after potentially hundreds of different coins in the future, without the fuss of wallet management and all that jazz.

It's a closed-end fund with pretty good chances of growing along with the rise of cryptocurrency markets. With a total market capitalisation of ~54 billion dollars at the time of writing, a ~1 trillion dollar market in a very conservative horizon of 10 years will not be so far fetched, and should fare well for TaaS.

Profits are paid out every quarter to token holders as dividends and a certain percentage automatically reserved for the purpose of re-investment. The interesting thing about this token is that it's built to survive:-

  • Market depression: there's a reserve fund which builds up itself on a bull market, and will progressively release for further funding on a bear market for staying in the game, so to speak. Also 25% of the quarterly profits are re-invested into the fund every quarter to increase its net asset value without ever acquiring external funding.

  • Backbone collapse: TaaS is an ERC20 token. The fine team over in TaaS have devised fallback plans just in case the Ethereum network faces any issues in the future. I'm certainly not in the clear about the technicals, but I think a doomsday plan such as this is great value in itself.

The only drawback that I'm thinking about now is the fallibility of human operators, so I hope the team will consider another fallback plan for TaaS. An eternal, autonomous entity working to snowball TaaS's value over the decades or centuries is a nice thought indeed. Not sure what innovations the team will be coming up with, but anyway, I think this remains to be a good addition for the cryptocurrency community. Their forums could also serve as a place to talk about great coins to buy into and whatnot.

All in all, this is definitely a long-term crypto and I don't expect the value of the tokens to change too dramatically in the beginning. Plus, I think most TaaS investors are just going to HODL these tokens in cold storage so I don't expect very liquid markets for it. Good times ahead, and remind me to say "Very TaaSty!" if the coin ever hits the market cap of ~1 billion in 2027. Pretty sure STEEM is going to be in their portfolio too as they ride the cycles between Bitcoin and Altcoins - these will all be made transparent as soon as the cryptographic audit tech is up and when TaaS funds enter the market.

It was sold for an average of ~$0.85 per TaaS during the ICO and if you think this is a great long-term opportunity, its current price a little above $1.00 may prove to be a good entry point. Only for the span of years, so I think TaaS will definitely disappoint if you're looking for short-term gains. For more info: https://taas.fund/

Sort:  

Thanks for the post. I believe the number of exchanges that have TaaS right now is limited, which is expected since it just got out of its ICO. I suspect that being on more exchanges in the future will be a good thing for TaaS.

This investment is particularly to lessen my market watch and focus on other stuff ;) Definitely set an alarm when it's more than 10 bucks / taas!

I think that is a solid plan. Thanks for the info about TaaS and best of luck with this investment!

Oh, this is cool. You're a pretty smart dude.

upvoted
@shayne

More like super lazy dude. Don't wanna be managing 200 coins all around Lol. So i'll just focus on my niche when it comes to finding the crypto that i'd like to support myself..

Well then I think we are in the same boat. I only deal with BTC, LTC, and Steem/SBD right now. I can't manage, nor do I want to manage any more.

Tell me more about TAAS? I'd like to see more posts on this. Is the smart contract secure, safe from hacks? Or is it another TheDAO?

Not in the clear about this, but at the moment I think the cryptographic audits are only for transparency. Funds are still moved by hand and don't live within the confines of the smart contract, but I could be entirely wrong about this part. As for the integrity of the smart contract for profit claiming / distribution, this guy from Ambisafe has a few projects under his belt..

That gives me pause... I will look at it more carefully. Good concept but is the execution safe enough is the question.

Yup definitely a concern here, i'm just gonna trust their human element for now after checking out their deets and presence in telegram etc. :)

Hey, after your advice I participated to the TaaS ICO! Thank you

I participated in ICO Taas!
I think a promising project!

Should be quite a nice reference to do our own trades too :)

This one crossed my mind but I ended up passing. The one ICO I might end up joining is Status, still thinking about it though.

Status.im seems solid. Aragon.one is also partnering with them. Definitely worth a try

I excitedly await the $0.28 dividend per token ^_^

w00t, same :D

If the team continues to deliver good results by next quarter/ dividend distribution, token price will surely continue to rise.

I do like the design, that it pays dividends, I actually like that a lot, but I need to investigate the security of it because honestly Solidity isn't a secure programming language and I cannot see myself putting a lot of my limited wealth into it.

nice post :)

Looks interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53