What types of things are you doing to get new users into blockchain Tech/Crypto currency?

in #crypto-news8 years ago (edited)

I'm just curious and some collective brainstorming might help me plan my next move in the chess game of life...I have done some things to help people get on board in the past 3 years and it has basically turned into a full-time volunteer job. My list includes:
Satoshi garden- This started with planting food on a local bike path in my hometown. We had found out that the sheriff was getting $250 a head for homeless people being shipped from the Bay Area to Stanislaus county . So, with a surplus of people with nothing to do nowhere to go humans, I decided to plant food on public land. I started taking BTC donations to buy more soil and plants . As the plants grew and the community grew around it I decided to call it Satoshi Garden thinking people would ask who/what satoshi is? In my mind this would be the green light to give them a friendly but severe ear beating about Blockchains, BTC, and the role technology plays in moving out of the dark age of fiat currency. It became nothing less than that! I hooked people up with wallets and gave away over 3 BTC to the community @ $5 to $10 each. During harvest I would host dinners and discussions about BTC and Blockchain tech.

Crypto Investment Consulting- I had people interested in crypto-investments coming by the garden and many of them decided to invest something larger than the small amount I was giving away to the community and needed advice. I then decided to steer these people in the direction of the ethereum crowd sale. Obviously they are beyond happy at this point! The last 2 weeks they have been buying into The DAO. I can only hope the excitement grows around that.

Signing up Businesses to accept BTC- this was a no brainer for me to help all my business owning friends accept BTC as payment for goods and services.

BTC / Blockchain class- I have so far taught one class at a local community center and many more to come.

I am doing all of this while simultaneously living more frugal than ever off of my growing crypto stash. I live in my car by choice at the moment hoping that the free work I am doing will continue to help people use and better understand blockchain tech and crypto currency. My main income has been gifts from people that I have turned onto crypto and 4 GPU's mining Ethereum at a friend's house. I would clearly like to turn what I do into a paying job raising awareness about blockchains and what they offer. I am setting up a crypto investment group and that should generate some capital for me! but i'd love to hear what other people are doing and any good ideas or insight I could gain!

-The Crypto Hippy

Sort:  

Awesome! Learning Solidity atm. Looking at how I can utilize DAO in my Systems Integration company- or if i want to. Very exciting stuff, exciting times!

Hi! Very inspiring story! I am a very part time crypto-enthusiast. For now, I share viral videos that I post on steemit.com and then share them to Facebook and then follow up with the Get $3 of Steem Power when you sign up today.

To me its a very low barrier to entry for the average people to start being exposed.

Let me know what you think of the idea...
[edit: about the offer]

Thank you! yeah I like it! What is the $10 offer. I'm new here and I'm just starting to grasp how it works and how to maximize incentives! This seems like a great Community so far!

Oh sorry I meant the "Get $3 of Steem Power when you sign up today." Which is the equivalent of 10 Steem Power.

Question: how did you hear about steem @forrestwillie ?

I saw it in top 10 market values on coincap.io which I now consider the new coinmarketcap.com. But I also remember hearing a while back about a social media platform that would be coming out of the Bitshares community And i assume this it based on the similarities to BTS

I'm still trying to convince people I know how amazing it all is, I try to learn what I can and then share the appropriate information with different kinds of people. With Steemit being a social platform I think it may be easier to share this kind of technology. I'd much prefer to see this kind of social networking tool succeed as an entirely new generation of putting value in content and media for everyone to have access to.

Agreed! I think turning people on to steemit is going to be a very helpful tool for getting folks into blockchains and crypto currencies. It helps build community around a blockchain which is what will make it survive and grow. I also think distributing the currency to content creators and curators is a brilliant way of distributing mining rewards. It beats the hell out of having to load an account up with crypto currency and then use that to tip for content that we like. because if everybody had to buy steem they would be less likely to tip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56