Tezos ICO is live

in #crypto-news7 years ago

It's live and this could be big. Let's see how many millions they raise in 24 hours.

The Tezos website: https://www.tezos.com/

Sort:  

Originally, I was going to invest until I read through the EOS white paper. For anyone who follow me for a while knows that I have been Ethereum investor/bull for some time now. The problem for me for in Tezos is there is nothing ground breaking besides the Dash like DAO governance model that Dash has had for 2 years. Moreover, looking over the EOS details it has superior tech even over Ethereum when it comes a extreme high volume transactional platform at near zero cost with governance built in too. But there's many things that bother me about Tezos. First, the husband and wife are very arrogant on Slack. Also, taking 8.5% just themselves instantly even if project fails. Plus, I can't even see how much money they are raising currently. Looks to me like they are trying to hide that? Maybe someone can point me to a link where I can see this?

The smart contract language and self amending governance capability are ground breaking enough to give it a major competitive advantage over Ethereum.

To me the personality and politics of the founders are irrelevant to the technical design. If they have good engineers on their team then their personal flaws will not have any influence on the platform. Giving them enough money to hire these engineers via a successful ICO is one way to achieve that.

And yes EOS has a competitive advantage over Ethereum as well but so far Tezos is in a position to have a security advantage in terms of the ease of writing secure smart contracts. I'm not sure about Web Assembly to be honest.

They are taking money from the 'little people' and claiming they are going to give it back, eventually.
(When it's worth only half as much?)
https://www.minds.com/blog/view/729214980280295424

anyone invest in it?

I can't decide if I should go in. I seen this one a long time ago and of the ICOs it sounded the most interesting until EOS.. decisions decisions.. thanks for the update. It goes on for what, 2 weeks.

im glad it's going to last more than 45 minutes...

I like the technology so I will be going in, but it's a matter of when and whether going in at the ICO is the best entry point or waiting a while. I have no idea if there will be a dump so I'm not entirely sure the best time to get in.

There is a high enough chance of it going below ICO price due to being uncapped and the current crypto downtrend that I will just buy it on exchanges when I see them put out something I like.

There is no crypto down trend except for people who look at the daily numbers. Try looking at monthly or yearly growth. In 2018-2020 Tezos will be in the 10s of billions I expect. And Ethereum will be in the 100s of billions.

Of course if something happens their roles could reverse. Holding Tezos is a hedge in case the transition to Proof of Stake fails.

I agree with you I am holding what I got and looking to buy more on these dips. I think the bubble talk is funny. We can talk bubbles when the market cap is 10 trillion.

Before I actually post some thoughts on the ICO, I have to say that I think you should have denied payouts for this post. I'm not going to downvote to redistribute funds as maybe it will spur some positive discussion and I enjoy most of your material, but the payout to content ratio in the OP definitely warrants a downvote.

Thoughts on the ICO

Earlier today I was definitely going to invest, but I'm a little more on the fence now. Granted most of the counter argument pieces I read were on Ether forums and they were regarding two things: the uncapped ICO and the founders arrogance in slack channels.

The first I'm ok with in some aspects: having an uncapped ICO prevents network traffic, lowers transaction fees, and helps prevent mistakes from people rushing to enter. But I think the money going to the development team should be capped and it discourages me that they will be worth 8 figures instantly after the ICO period. I also don't really like them instantly selling ETH investments and converting to BTC as they see ETH as their main competition.

The second point has a simple counter argument: that over time the Tezos team will be phased out of the decision making process and the self-governing will take over.

Good thing I have some time to think it over. The uncapped ICO taketh, and the uncapped ICO giveth.

If I worked for Tezos I would agree with you that maybe I should deny payout for this post. But since I do not, I want to acquire Tezos tokens too and the payouts can help me to acquire them.

Earlier today I was definitely going to invest, but I'm a little more on the fence now. Granted most of the counter argument pieces I read were on Ether forums and they were regarding two things: the uncapped ICO and the founders arrogance in slack channels.

If you have something against the Tezos team it has nothing to do with me. I'm not an employee or member of the team and receive nothing from their ICO. As a result I have no responsibility to defend statements made by the members of their team nor any need to comment on any of that.

I only see the technology itself as potentially a hedge against Ethereum.

My first paragraph and the followup paragraphs were unrelated: I think you should have denied payouts for 20 seconds worth of typing, and I also posted my thoughts about the ICO. My hesitance to invest has nothing to do with your post.

Is it the amount of typing I did that matters or the timing and relevance of the information I provided that matters? Suppose a person gets news first and posts just one sentence with the immediate announcement? Is that immediate information worth more than a much longer post but less immediate?

In this case I wanted to get the information out as soon as possible so I kept it brief. And yes I did suspect if I was first to get the information onto Steemit that I might get a higher payout than if someone else was first but I'm not sure that is a bad incentive.

I also don't think it's only value is as a hedge against Ethereum. There is room in the world for google and yahoo, walmart and costco, whole foods and trader joe's, and there is room for more than one successful smart contract platform, especially when one is thin-layered and one is fat-layered.

That said, since ETH is my largest cryptocurrency holding, I definitely should use the hedge.

Sure there is, but I just don't think Tezos will be dominant over EOS, Tauchain, etc. Suppose Ethereum fails in the transition to Casper? Tezos will benefit wildly from this.

EOS in my opinion will grow at the rate of Steemit and Peerplays.

Tauchain is the highest risk highest potential reward. Revolutionary jump in tech if it works and none of those others will be able to compete with it.

About Payout to Content ratio, this really depends. If for some people my post was the first post they saw showing them that Tezos is live then perhaps it deserved the up vote. On the other hand I can see if there was someone who announced it earlier than me and they get the most up votes for being fresh and new.

Generally though, I can expect for political reasons a lot of people will not like Tezos because it competes with Ethereum. At the same time Tezos ICO is a relevant and big event equal to the EOS crowdsale which I also posted about. EOS is also uncapped, but I'm not really against uncapped sales because it gives me more time to think about the value proposition.

@dana-edwards, do you invest yourself in it? And for the other people, here are some instructions for participating

Confirmed. Yes I have. But I'm not suggesting anyone else do so. You could lose your money. But if you're someone blogging on Steemit and need to hedge your bets then get some EOS, get some Tezzies, get some AGRS, get some Ether, just so you can not have to worry about which one will win.

In my opinion building a diversified portfolio is a good idea.

Thank you, I'm always advicing people to decide for themself and read the whitepaper. I'm into cryptpo's for a long time but Tezos is my first ICO (beceause I know the details and being in it from the start). I'm verry sceptical about the most ICO's. Going to read about EOS.

Do I want to put my eth in Tezos of status network

Almost live! It goes off at 2 AM here in the East coast. I'm ready! T minus 35 minutes to liftoff!

A bit early, but I'm there with you. Been watching the clock for the last hour.

What makes Tezos worth it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53