You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Use of Your Idle Laptop To Make Money for You: Minergate Walkthrough #1

in #cruptocurrency7 years ago

Great guide @littlenewthings. Another good option that's potentially even easier is Nicehash. You simply download their miner and plug in a BTC address and it takes care of the rest for you. Downside is you need 0.01 BTC for a payout which isn't ideal when you are mining with an old clunker of a laptop.

I'm a bit leary about mining on my phone but would be interested to see what the results were if anyone has tried it out.

Sort:  

I have tried mining from multiple old phones and tablet at the same time and apparently it works pretty well for BCN mining. Monero however will make your devices hot rather quickly, so I'd just stick to BCN mining for fun on my phone when I am in the office and it is right below an air-conditioner when it is not in use to keep it cool.

So far my old Samsung 7.7 Tablet worked pretty steady too for Minergate but I have not updated it to the latest app, so I wouldn't vouch that it still works well, although it has ICS OS installed.

Nicehash is never profitable for mining from old laptops, especially relies on strong GPUs gaming laptops / pcs. This will not be a recommendation for casual miners and layman.

Thanks so much for sharing your insight. And thanks for making time and stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43