The Crunchy Life: Switching from Neosporine to Ozone Oil for Minor Wounds

in #crunchy7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2017-07-31 at 1.42.29 AM.png
Growing up, I didn't think twice before using topical antibiotics. Of course, I grew up in the 80's, when antibiotic everything was all the rage. I bought into the idea and spent my contemplative existence figuring out how to live in a sterile environment, which ironically was just about the most unhealthful pursuit I could have an obsession with. Good germs can help our health, and antibiotics, even topical ones like Neosporine, can harm us.

Neosporine contains neomycin, bacitracin, and polymyxin. Do yourself a favor, and click on these and go read about their toxicity and allergenicity. (One of these was even voted allergen of the year!)

We live and learn, and just about the time I was maturing into adulthood, the culture was absorbing the idea that too many antibiotics weren't a good thing. In fact, they were being overused, and bacteria were rapidly adapting to become resistant to them. This was before the microbiome was widely known about, but society was moving in the right direction.

Side bar: It never ceases to amaze me, nowadays, when I go into a bathroom somewhere and they're clearly dispensing antibacterial soap. It must be so cheap because nobody wants it! (Tip: I carry a little squeeze bottle of liquid hand soap with me for situations like this, because antibacterial soap, particularly those containing triclosan, are quite toxic and I avoid it.)

But sometimes you still need something to put on minor wounds, to help keep bad bacteria away and facilitate healing. A few years ago, I discovered ozone oil, something few people have heard of. Ozone, like peroxide, contains an extra oxygen atom on its molecule. It's an unstable bond, and will release that extra oxygen when something comes along that can interact with it. That oxidation process is quite effective at killing bad bacteria, which is why some people use hydrogen peroxide for cleaning wounds. Ozone oil, can stay on wounds like Neosporine, because it is an ointment, and so you get the benefit of time release. Ozone oil is made when ozone gas (O3) is percolated slowly through an oil that can absorb it. Unsaturated fats make ideal carriers because they have lots of bonding sites that aren't being used. Saturated fats like coconut oil, then, even though they are very popular oils right now, don't make ideal carriers unless you want a really low dose ozone oil.

Besides wounds, you can use ozone oil for all kinds of issues. Try it on acne, dry skin, underarms, diaper rash, and more. I use it all the time for all kinds of things, even on an inflamed gum. It does have a smell to it, if you're familiar with ozone, it smells very mildly like chlorine, but I am sensitive to the smell of chlorine and ozone oil does not bother me. You can get scented ozone oil if it bothers you.

Since you can get ozone oil in just about any oil, I'll reveal that my favorite is jojoba, which confusingly isn't really an oil, it's a wax, but works anyway very well as a carrier for ozone. It doesn't solidify hard like coconut oil can, and since you have to keep ozone oil in the fridge, this is an issue. Olive oil and other mono and polyunsaturated fats work well also. Hemp oil is also available.

I don't know if ozone oil is widely available outside the United States. I have seen it on Australian Ebay, but I would ask a natural health store or practitioner where to buy it. I don't suggest trying to make it yourself because ozone gas is harmful to inhale.

In the US, I like PurO3 Ozone and I usually order from PromoLife (I have NO affiliation, financial or otherwise, with either of them.) The PromoLife owner seems to respond quickly if you have a question. Post down below if you've ever heard of or tried ozone oil before!

My last blog: Just Thrive Probiotic Review (Unpaid, Unbiased)

Sort:  

Congratulations @debouched! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60778.23
ETH 2434.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55