Crowdsourcing Clarity, Ep. 12: Need a breakdown of D-Tube, YouTube starting to really suck.

IMG_4190.JPG

Lazy-ass is back.


I am looking to potentially relocate my Voluntary Japan video channel from YouTube to another service. Of course, as a blockchain enthusiast, D-Tube is the first thing that comes to mind. The problem is, I have limited time and am in need of some info.


Here's how I can get what I need and you can get 10 SBD:


  • Tell me what D-Tube is, and what it isn't.
  • Tell me how to use it.
  • Pros and cons as compared to YouTube.
  • Any other important details.

Thank you!!!

I will send 10 SBD to the commenter providing the most helpful answer. Cheers!

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

I haven't used it yet, so I can't comment, but I will be checking your responses. I'm curious too.

Only a few minutes ago I decided I need to try find this information too. If you don't get the answers you're looking for in the next day or two I'll be back to share whatever I've found.

Cheers, @the-dagda. Much obliged.

I don't know if all of your questions have been answered yet but I do see most of the information I've come across already mentioned in comments to this post.

The only thing I've not seen mentioned in these comments is the 25% cut that Dtube takes of the payout, some of which is used to pay for file storage. The fact that there is a paid service hosting the files makes me question the decentralization of Dtube too, but I don't understand IPFS and how it works so my worries might be unfounded.

Here is where I've found most of my information about it. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2080964.0

The main con in my eyes right now is the inability to embed Dtube videos in steemit posts requiring people to go off site to watch them. But that's coming from a consumer perspective as I don't yet make videos, I can't give a full rundown of problems creators might face, but as others have said there seem to be lag issues, file type issues and such.

This is the first I've heard of D-Tube but it sounds like a very cool project.

@kafkanarchy84 really great questions I also wanted to know what is the right answer from that question:))
Mee too yet time not joined Dtube!

I'm a big fan of the concept of Dtube. @heimindanger, its developer, seems to be working hard to create a real youtube replacement with a better potential reward system. It is linked to your Steemit account and like a post you make on Steemit you can get rewards by upvotes in the same way.

Go to https://dtube.video. Log in with your Steemit username and private posting key and click upload in the top right corner.

It is very early days for the platform and there are still important things still to happen to make it a contender.

Lagging video
Youtube has it's own servers and lots of bandwidth to make sure viewer see your videos when they want them. Dtube relies on IPFS (interplanetary file system) to host the files which is still a platform in it's own infancy. This makes for not the most reliable video platform, at the moment

Censorship
Youtube is a company and they can choose whether to host your files or not and whether to pay you rewards or not. This is based on their own corporate on political interests. Dtube is much more difficult to censor due to the way the files are stored.

Rewards
With Youtube you need to get many many views before you can receive rewards based on ad revenue. Dtube on the other hand is using the same reward pool as any Steemit post.

Search
Youtube, due to the fact it is part of Google taps into its world class search facilities. With Dtube at the moment the search facilities are very rudimentary.

As i said it is early days for Dtube, I can see it improving but like Youtube in it's early days there is still alot to be done. It is very much in Beta. You should give it a try but I would suggest not putting all of your eggs in the one basket.

Thanks, @ammonite. 10 SBD on the way!

Thank you so much. Glad to be of help. Check out Dsound also. A new decentralised audio platform also based on Steem. Just like dtube but for sound.

Well, I'm not totally informed but from my understand D-Tube is still a bit unknown, it's got the block-chain setup for decentralization. It appears to only reliably take MP4 videos. There isn't any censorship, but it uses the same "New, Hot, Trending" system of Steemit and Uses Steem currency for payment. Upvotes function the same as on Steemit, in that you get direct monetization. It's clearly still in the development phase and doesn't have a huge number of users yet. So while you could make money off it, a full transition for most "Youtubers" isn't really viable, yet.

I recommend posting a few videos on it to see what you think, but don't expect a gigantic burst in revenue. You use your steemit account on D-Tube as well, so you technically already have an account. Just go on and post some videos. Good luck.

A video by WAM, about D-tube.

As far as I know Dtube is made on the Steemit platform and is linked to your Steemit account as well. Use either mp4 or webm as format when uploading. It's decentralized but having a lot of issues. Tbh, I don't think it will ever be able to outstand youtube (won't even come close). However it might be one of the best options you have right now (other than Youtube...).
My bet is that once EOS is finished, then we will see some proper decentralized version of Youtube, that can actually take the challenge of overthrowing it...

CONS

according to me dtube is now in such a sate which is compartively still a kind of inferior to the youtube because in dtube you cannot edit videos like on youtube ,cannot upload thumbnails of decent size,and no extra control over your videos..

PROS

dtube is centralized
it is fast and reliable
dtube every video is automatically monetised (youtube only monetise video who's channel has already 10k views)
dtube give more money than youtube..
i have tried to cover most of the important points ...if you have found this interesting please support me up

We did a review of dtube.video on Episode 300 of the Geek Rant Podcast at http://www.elementopie.com if you are interested. I think its about 10 minutes into the show from the start.

i haven't use it either waiting to see people comments to start D-tube :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.59
ETH 2604.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71