Crowdmind Interview: Steem need more dApps - @fbslo

in #crowdmind5 years ago


Howdy people, it is time for another interview!

You know, manual curation has many benefits, and maybe the greatest of them is opportunity to read unique stories from the people who are active on this blockchain we love. Some of these people are extraordinary individuals, who dedicate significant amount of their time to help this platform and its users grow, by supporting their creative efforts and ideas.
One of them is @fbslo - very mysterious young guy from Slovenia. We will respect his privacy and focus on the things he has done or is currently doing for the platform. If you didn't know he created classic game available on our platform steemsnake amongst other dApps we will be discussing now.

CM: It is hard to believe that there are Steemians who never heard about you, but let's pretend you are doing #introduceyourself post again. What would you say?

I'm @fbslo and I'm from Slovenia. I love crypto, Steem, cats and coding (JavaScript). I joined Steem in August 2017 when I was looking for some ICO reviews and I found Steemit.com. Since then, I started blogging and I also become Steem witness in February 2018.

I didn't reveal much personal details, but I'm leaving small hints about my life in my posts ;) I will write "full" #introduceyourself post once in the future.

P.S. There are details about my witness on my website fbslo.net :)

CM: You are the Steem witness. Today it looks that all questions for witnesses are focused on benefits. But what are the responisbilities? Can we separate the community and tech side? Do they overlap and how?

First of all, a witness must have enough knowledge to maintain the witness node. The main duty of witnesses is to keep blockchain running. It's not so hard to set up a witness node and to keep it running, but it's hard to pay for server during the bull market if you are a low-rank witness.

But witnesses must contribute to commmunity too. I'm sad to see that many of top 50 witnesses didn't even make a post in last year, but many good witnesses are at rank 100+.

CM: In the last witness interview you stated that Steemit is not ready for the mass adoption yet. We can agree with you, but knowing that you are very dedicated to the dapp development and actively involved in different projects around, it would be very interesting to hear your oppinion about the things that should happen in order to achieve this.

Steem needs more dApps. I like apps like dTube and dSound and I think that we need more apps like this. One of Steem’s problems is spam. Most of the content on Steem is low quality or spam. I think that special flag power (maybe 1 full flag per day) that wouldn’t affect voting power could be a solution.

CM: Can you tell us more about the decentralized applications you are currently developing?

Currently, I'm working on Ether Steem (ethersteem.com). It's exchange that will allow users to exchange STEEM to ERC20 tokens that can be traded on more exchanges. There are many exchanges that list only ERC20 tokens and STEEM can't be listed to this exchanges. Ether Steem will solve this problem.

CM: We are following your work and we are happy to see you are recognizing the crowdsourcing potential. For example, you crowdsourced the call for Ether Steem logo last month. Sadly, there was only one entry, but the prize was really good. This was a then signal to us - it confirmed that we recognized the need for empowering the wisdom of the crowds correctly. What are the reasons for this - is it possible we donot have talented designers around? Was that the Steem price? Or something else?

I would say that Steem price effect number of active users, so many designers didn't even see my post. I'm sure that more designers would participate if STEEM would be worth $5 ($100 bounty) that $0.25 ($5 bounty).

CM: Many contests around are based on something we call comment, resteem, and win. Do we need a more creative approach? Maybe to do something with the results - we had that hypothetical example of short story contest which could result in a hard copy book. Are we too optimistic?

Right now, many people simply don’t use Steem as much as in the past, because the price is too low. So they don’t read many posts and they don’t even see contests. I agree that comment, resteem, and win is not the best thing for Steem, but contests can get more participants this way.

CM: Do you have any advice for the crowd? How can we do this better? Can you see some kind of crowdmind dapp in the future, and what should it look like?

I think that crowdmind dApp is great idea!



Also posted on Crowdmind.io website with SteemPress : https://www.crowdmind.io/2018/12/27/crowdmind-interview-steem-need-more-dapps-fbslo/
Sort:  

Another dapp on steem, greet, I hope more teams will join steem.

Posted using Partiko Android

I just got an upvote from you so I decide to check you guys up what you are doing and how we can be of help to each other

Thanks for curating my post, I guess you'll be seeing much of me later.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25