You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Maven Crowdfunded Guild - A Cowdfunded Guild Focused on Social Influencers

in #crowdfund8 years ago

Well, a fairly interesting concept (a similar guild voting project is already underway by @virtualgrowth).

But you didn't tell us anything, or at least next to nothing, about yourself. What are your background and qualifications? How long have you been on steemit, how many posts, and under what username? Are decisions to be made by you alone? Is there to be some multisig capacity in case you get hit by the proverbial bus? etc.

You would probably get a lot more interest and support if you were to join a Beyond Bitcoin mumble session on Friday mornings and make your pitch and face the questions. Check out the beyondbitcoin tag for more info.

Sort:  

@onceuponatime this is an account I created (@lpfaust) and in retrospect, I think I would have done the initial announcement through my own account were I to redo it. What is done cannot be undone at this point.

In terms of the similarity to what @virtualgrowth is doing with the Steemprentice whale, I would say the structure is similar regarding initial investment and return on investment (redistribution of curation rewards). However, I think there are some key differences.

  • The Steemprentice whale (which I was one of the first major contributors to) appears to have a general mission to upvote content from members and strong content in general. It also includes a social component involving tweeting featured content through the Twitter social platform. In contrast, this project focuses on Social Influencers and uses Yelp as a template (for reasons outlined in the article above). The focus is on quality, in depth articles/reviews on businesses and products with the knock on effect of pulling brand dollars into the Steemit ecosystem, specifically using Social Influencers as the conduit.

  • I think another point of contrast is the expressed intent of this project to channel 1/4 of curation rewards into funds to pay for sponsored content on other mainstream sites (Conde Nast, CNN, Food Network, etc) to drive traffic to the Social Influencer posts here on Steemit. Additionally, these funds were earmarked to boost social reach on Facebook, Twitter and other social media platforms, and other things outlined in the above article. The Steempretice whale has not outlined a plan to do this.

I think the two guilds can coexist and really should not compete with one anther - there is so much more need for something like these two guilds than either can provide (even in a mutual fashion, which I could see happening from time to time).

In the end, if individuals feel uncomfortable supporting this project/guild, I would suggest they don't contribute until such time as they feel comfortable, and I can understand their position. Ultimately if the community members choose not to contribute, it won't stop the project from moving forward, it will only limit how far forward it ca move in a given time. I feel strongly this is the direction things on this platform need to move and I have put my own money where my convictions lie. I'd invite others to join me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58510.90
ETH 2522.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36