You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Old Dog Recommends : Plant Crocuses And Watch The Beauty Spread!

in #crocuses7 years ago

Crocuses are a beautiful and cheerful "early reminder" of spring... when I was little, in Denmark, I remember how they would sometimes be blooming even when there was snow, adding colour to a dull winter scene... as I recall, we had yellow and white ones, in addition to the typical purple/blue.

Haven't tried growing them here (Washington state, USA), although the climate seems good for them-- we have a lot of deer and wild rabbits, and they seem to eat absolutely everything we try to grow, and putting up an actual electric fence seems like a bit too much effort!

Sort:  

I'm glad that you have some good memories of them. I read somewhere that the deer and rabbits leave them alone. On our property we get deer, rabbits, wild boar, mice and rats! Perhaps without them they'd be even more pervasive.

Thanks @denmarkguy for your contributions here on Steemit whether in the form of your articles or your comments. They are first class!

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42