The opheliafu flower

in #crochet8 years ago

Yesterday I helped my sister @phoenixmaid design the opheliafu flower as a thank you to opheliafu for including her in a daily doodle.


picture used with phoenixmaids permission

So I decided to create this post on the making of The opheliafu flower.
So here we go, wish me luck and please be kind as this is my very first post on steemit.

Getting started


I started by making the centre of the flower. This did involve some basic math as the number of stitches determines the number of petals you can make. I wanted five petals so I made 10 stitches.

Getting started

Next I needed to create the structure on which to form the petals. There are many different ways to do this depending on how you want your petals to look. For this design I used a series of chain stitches.

Now I can make the first round of petals, I did this by stitching over the chains with a variety of stitches in ascending then descending order of size, adding a picot stitch in the middle to add definition to the petals shape. You could leave it there if you wanted but I always intended on having two layers of petals for this design as with five petals it looks more like a star the a flower.

Therefore I needed to repeat the process of creating a structure for another layer of petals. This time I attached the chains between the first layer of petals so that the second layer would fall between the first, this is a little fiddly but worth the effort. (This is a good point to change yarn colour if you want)

Adding a second layer of petals adds depth, which helps make the flower more realistic.


I really enjoyed designing this flower and I hope you enjoyed reading about the process.

Thank you for reading my first post.
I would really appreciate any comments or steemit tips you may have to share.

Sort:  

Hey Christine, so glad you decided to join me on steemit and congrats for doing so well on your first post. I'm made up for you xx

Thanks hun and thank you for all your help getting started. xx

I will follow you as well. welcome to steemit stichin-sista

Thank you for the warm welcome. I will go check out your posts now

This is amazing! It's so pretty and very creative. I've only patience enough for making scarves and maybe a pineapple stitch shawl. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58976.49
ETH 2502.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48