HowTo Crochet Amigurumi - Video, Part 1

in #crochet7 years ago (edited)

What is Amigurumi?

Amigurumi is the Japanese art of crocheting or knitting dolls or toys. In this three video series, we’ll be making this little octopus.



3B19005B-29BB-448B-8A58-F219D4DDE497.jpeg


Click the image to go to the video!



Part One

In this video, we’ll work on tension and single crochet. Those are the two most important basic things to know to start amigurumi.

I’ve never taught anyone, except myself, how to crochet, so if I left anything out, or if I just confused you, let me know in the comments and I’ll try to clarify. :)

This is not my pattern. Here is a link to the original pattern by Sarah Hearn. It’s free to download!

Dang it!

I’ve tried getting this video on dtube all stinkin’ day! I’ll try to figure that out later, but I’m ready to get this posted, so I’m just going to link to it from here. So, just click the picture of the green octopus at the top of the post, and it’ll take you to it!

Here is a link to part two!


[](https:

Sort:  

Cute! I saw lots of kids and mothers are making this cute stuff when they have a long vacation for their holiday project.

They’re fun to make and they are so cute! There are so many free patterns, I can never pick which one I want to make next. lol

Hey, I nominated you for the Seven Day Black and White Photo Challenge. Here’s the post. The directions are in the post.

I saw your post! Thank you so much!! I will select a photo from my collection!

Congratulations @powellx5! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This is adorable! And, having once attempted to crochet a hat, which eventually accepted its true nature as a coaster, I can comprehend the skill required!

Upvoted, and following you now <3

Thank you for the tip and your support. I really appreciate finding great humans utilizing this platform :)

Oh, excellent. I’ll be posting part two tomorrow.

It’s always nice when projects accept that they’ll never be Pinterest quality and accept what they really are. I still give my mom all of my misfit projects. And ya know, I really can’t tell if she really believes they belong in a museum, or if she’s just eternally supportive!

I bet Aimee would like this. I'll have to pass it along.

I meant to get the second part out yesterday, but I had some technical difficulties, so it’ll be tomorrow. Thanks for passing it along! Hope you’re having a great weekend!

These are adorable! I am convinced that knitting and crocheting are a form of sorcery! I have never been good at either. The first thing I ever purchased for my twins were these adorable crochet giraffes from the farmers market. swoon Maybe one day I will learn to make my own adorable crochet animals. Here is Hunter with his giraffe. -AimeeIMG_20180116_104458_966.jpg

I’ve finally got Part 2 up. :P My Gram, my aunt and mother all tried to teach me crochet. I had to just get a book and watch a couple howto’s before I finally got it. Now I can’t quit!

That's a great octopus! I bet you made someone very happy when you gave it to him or her!

I haven’t given him to anyone.... yet. He and several of his friends are destined for #freearttuesday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62690.68
ETH 2463.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62