Magical Mermaids

in #crochet6 years ago

When I was a little girl, The Little Mermaid was my all time fave Disney film! I found a gorgeous mermaid pattern in Simply Crochet - Issue 32 that I just had to try.

For the tail I used 3 strands (blue, blue sparkle and green), then the body is two strands of skin tone, using a 4.5mm hook. I have played around with varying lengths of fringe for the hair, in red, orange and pink, for a luxurious 'Ariel-esque' look :)

Mermaid Ariel (cropped).jpg

For another look, I used a blue, green colour combo for the hair.

Mermaid.jpg

I like using multiple threads (or a chunky wool) for my amigurumi, so its big and cuddly :)

One issue that has come up, is that the neck on this pattern is quite flimsy, so with the weight of the hair, the head tends to flop over. I usually stuff pretty tight, so that the shape is kept, but Ive seen other people use anything from wooden sticks to wiring for support. Ive started playing around with flower wires in recent projects, so will let you know how I get one with them!

Sort:  

Totally cute mermaids, @kimbolo. How big are they then?

I would just put more stuffing in the neck area so if you stuff the head and body first make sure that you add a bit extra as a 'joining' bit. I find in this way they do not separate and then flop...

Hi @cryptocariad these two came out at about about 50cm from head to tail. Yeh, i prefer putting more stuffing in too - the body and head are crocheted in one piece, so its quite easy to firmly stuff this pattern. Thanks for looking :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67467.65
ETH 3470.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71