Caron cake mixed berry - crochet virus pattern baby blanket

in #crochet7 years ago

Ive been a bit off my crochet game this week, starting new projects then getting bored quickly. So far ive got a knotty lacy scarf and an amigurumi hedgehog on the go!

When i picked up this caron cake yarn i initially started another asymmetric scarf/shawl, but the pattern i picked just didnt look right. I frogged that one and was inspired by steemit user @bedoodle to try the virus pattern. The free pdf version is difficult to get hold of now but Jonna Martinez does a fabulous video explaining how to set up this wonderful pattern. Ive seen lots of variations of this pattern and they all look amazing, so the pattern works with lots of colour combinations or even as a single block colour.

IMG_20170716_160648611.jpg

I used a little under a whole caron cake to complete this small blanket and a 6mm hook. Caron cakes are aran weight so knit up nice and thick. I followed the pattern and finished on a row 6 (the second row of dcs on the fan shapes) then worked a final round of single crochet with picot detail at the tip of each fan ( sc in each double crochet - at the 5th dc, ch 3, sl st into 3rd ch from hook, sc in next st - sc in each sc, sc 3 times in each ch3 space all round)

Let me know what you think - i would also love to see other versions of this pattern :)

Sort:  

This looks gorgeous! I love it! I've only used Caron Cake once for a big infinity scarf and I loved the yarn. Thank you so much for sharing!

Beautiful! I love it! Glad you worked one up in those awesome colors. How big did it end up being? I love cake yarn! We need to get more crocheters here on Steemit! Thanks for the mention as well!!

I agree that We need more crocheters on Steemit! I love love love looking at other peoples creations ans posting my own as well.

Its nice to share the background behind a project as well as just the pictures and steemit seems to be the perfect platform for that!

Thanks :) really love the pattern! Its a relaxing repeat :) the blanket is about 30in by 30in. Could obviously be made bigger by joining in more cakes, but i only had one :) i know, more people need to share their stuff on here! And you are mlst welcome for the share :)

Kinda has that fractal self-similarity thing going for it. :)

Aye its a really clever pattern :) looks better the bigger you go!

I've been meaning to do this pattern! You inspired me to try it this fall. I like to crochet with thread in the summer, but love to snuggle up under some warm yarn when it gets cool outside.

Would love to see how yours comes out when you're finished @anise :) im the same, love to snuggle under a crochet project when its cool out. We dont usually get much of a warm summer, so i get more time for snuggling :)

Very nice needlework my friend @kimbolo86! I initiated a #NeedleworkMonday today! Could you check out my post and tell me what you think? I really want to get needlework seen more on this platform...such an inspiring art! Thanks in advance~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52