You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why do writers write? Why do readers read?

in #critique6 years ago

So...what is YOUR take on the validity of that review/critique?

Me, I read a book because I want to read words. I want to see the pictures, imagine the people, look at the scenery, NOT JUST advance a storyline (or else I might as well read the official book review and call it good). All those unnecessary words are where a lot of the flavor and color are, the extra spices that make a thing taste good. You can cut all those spices out, and the food is still recognizable as food, but I don't think it's as rich.

But that's just me.

Sort:  

Neg, you're talking to a fan of Henry James (master of intricate detail) and Dosteoevsky.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68706.20
ETH 3751.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76