Division

in #crisis2 years ago

IMG_20220506_223847.jpg

There are things that are happening in the country at the moment that I can understand from our regionally specific point of view, but I cannot understand from a universal point of view.

IMG_20220506_223902.jpg

Bulgarians welcome foreigners. With open arms. Foreigners of all nationalities are well received and welcomed in the country.
To such an extent that Bulgarians have the reputation of a warm and hospitable people. Which they really aren't. They may be so, only to foreigners, but not to other members of their nation.

IMG_20220506_223833.jpg

Bulgarians never help each other. Neither in the country, nor when they are abroad.

And now these people are fighting each other in the squares of the capital. To the blood. Arguing with each other on behalf of two foreign nations. Waving the flags of two foreign nations in the squares of the country. Shouting at each other, insulting each other, swearing, hitting each other. On behalf of two foreign nations.

IMG_20220506_223933.jpg

Because of issues that do not depend on any of them. They are decided at the state level, not on the street, and no one's opinion matters here. (It is about whether or not to supply weapons to Ukraine.)

And I think that here the Bulgarian people have really reached their bottom. A bottom that is already difficult to explain even by me.

IMG_20220506_224008.jpg

The Bulgarian people are poor.
From a psychological point of view, it is absolutely understandable that they want to help someone who is even poorer than them. This is reassuring in every way.
First, it is reassuring that there is someone who is poorer than you, or someone who is more unhappy than you. Right?

IMG_20220506_224039.jpg

No, don't tell me it's cruel. Why else is there news on television, dominated by misfortunes - disasters, accidents and death. Because it calms people down - someone is worse than me. There is a disaster somewhere, I am fine, I am alive and well, although I am very poor, although in order to buy a washing machine or pay for electricity I have to take out a loan, although I have to stay cold in the winter because I can't to pay for heating or that I have nothing to eat.

IMG_20220506_224057.jpg

Hey, there's a war at a stone's throw away. People's homes are being destroyed, people are being forced to leave and flee. And these mothers with children... who has no compassion for mothers with children? As my mother herself said, "My heart breaks when I watch these young mothers with children."

IMG_20220506_224152.jpg

People are able to forget everything at the moment and embark on another cause, a cause that distracts them from their own unhappy reality and also assures them that they are not so bad. Here it could be even worse.
A foreign cause. Not Bulgarian one.

IMG_20220506_224206.jpg

I am far from a patriot, and statements that try to elevate one country above all or one state above another are foreign to me. But what I saw on television in the last few days is monstrous - the Bulgarians are divided again. This time not divided into communists and democrats, not fans of CSKA and Levski (the main football teams), not even those who unconditionally believe in science and are vaccinated and those who do not believe it at all.

IMG_20220506_224223.jpg

Today they are divided into Russophiles and Ukrainophiles. And they are fighting for this new division.

Thank you for your time! Copyright:@soulsdetour
steem.jpgSoul's Detour is a project started by me years ago when I had a blog about historical and not so popular tourist destinations in Eastern Belgium, West Germany and Luxembourg. Nowadays, this blog no longer exists, but I'm still here - passionate about architecture, art and mysteries and eager to share my discoveries and point of view with you.

Personally, I am a sensitive soul with a strong sense of justice.
Traveling and photography are my greatest passions.
Sounds trivial to you?
No, it's not trivial. Because I still love to travel to not so famous destinations.🗺️
Of course, the current situation does not allow me to do this, but I still find a way to satisfy my hunger for knowledge, new places, beauty and art.
Sometimes you can find the most amazing things even in the backyard of your house.😊🧐🧭|

Sort:  

It's human nature. They need to find something to get excited about. It's a distraction from their miserable lives. They need to feel noble fighting for a cause - whatever cause. Quite sad, really.

Human nature has many unbelievable sides that remain hidden until an unexpected event occurs.
I hope my posts don't look too arrogant when I share my personal observations over the years. No one wants to read unpleasant facts, such as that people are evil. But I can't put on my pink glasses all the time and pretend that's not true and such things do not exist.

You are right - 'Human nature has many unbelievable sides'..
Not all humans are bad. There are also good humans doing good deeds. It's just that the bad things they do are more noticeable. They are loud about it. Whereas the good humans do good deeds quietly.

Have a nice weekend!

You are right, of course, too. I can't express my views in a single comment, but I write this in terms of the environment that surrounds me, the place where I was born and raised and my life experience (in this part of the world).

Have a beautiful weekend too! ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94