Coral Reef Guardian - A blue green Fiji.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #crgfiji7 years ago (edited)

Steemians!

Have you ever had the opportunity to take the plunge below the ocean surface.. long enough to notice the abundance and complexity of the underwater world? Have you taken that same amazement and curiosity back to the surface with you as a result of your underwater adventure? It changes you, on a molecular level...

FB_IMG_1508328464461.jpg!

I was lucky enough to have been a "kai wai" or ocean child.. all my life. Thank you, to my mother and father, for giving my 2 brothers and I that amazing gift in life.

The ocean became my playground, my classroom.. and the inhabitants became my friends...

I am 31 years old now, the ocean is getting even more terminally ill, I must do something.. but what can a boy from the Islands do? I have not got the resources to take on the mammoth task of curbing GLOBAL warming by no more than a 2'C increase in temperatures...

I am a dive master , soon to do my instructors course and have been an avid diver since 16 years of age. As it became one of the many trades I have, it became apparent that making money off the sport in order to afford the sport was an intelligent way forward.

Predominantly, I have done commercial diving and low visibility work with literally thousands of hours of dive time.. so, as you could imagine, I really get excited when I get to go on a fun dive in 25+ m visibility and am reminded of all the reasons why I fell in love with the ocean, from the very first time my Grandfather threw me in the water as a child...his approach to most things in life, sink or swim, a great lesson in life.

All is not well with the ocean though, so I have decided to take action by creating a new business and charitable organisation, partnering with corporate citizens, local communities and organisations wishing to take a direct action approach on environmental and social issues, centred around creating Climate Resilient Coastal Communities.

I wish to use this page as an opportunity to document and reflect on what we, as Pacific Island Climate Warriors, are experiencing on a daily and increasingly dramatic basis.

I also hope to use the space to explore the opportunity of opening dialogue and discussion of solutions to similar issues, through use of new technologies, methods of permaculture, agriculture, aquaculture and mariculture, sustainable fishing methods both traditional and new.

We wish to remain a small and nimble organisation that engages in direct action environmental programs on a local level, with international benefits, to the tourism and hotel industries, the fisheries industry and food security of the nation of Fiji, while benefiting local communities by creating awareness of fisheries management and creating climate resilient coastal communities.

Please share, up vote, comment and engage us. We are working on ways to make it easy for people willing to donate to our cause. You, the steemit.com community are in an opportune position to use your influence and steem to help us , here in the Pacific Islands.

So with that little brief introduction, from a little island in the pacific, I bid you adieu.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.87
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49